Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Er... help!

    This is a discussion on Er... help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all... my broadband reset itself earlier. and it's now rather slow! Here is a pic from a few days ...

    1. #1
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Er... help!

      Hi all... my broadband reset itself earlier. and it's now rather slow!

      Here is a pic from a few days ago


      Now here is a pic from earlier.. router connected to test socket

      Pic are attached at the bottom of the page!!



      My Line Attenuation has gone up quite a bit. Doesn't that mean i've moved away from the phone exchange?!

      We moved over to Sky for our telephone a few weeks back with no problems, but i 'spose i'll have to call them if there's a fault on the line?

      Also, if this is any use, is router stats from 5th July

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.203.196.35 P-t-P:87.87.249.252 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:6302 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:3566 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:8437056 (8.0 MiB) TX bytes:1189331 (1.1 MiB)

      Uptime 302.45 279.66
      Wan up 60.87 49.20
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 800 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4992 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.8 15.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 6336 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 4992 800
      G.dmt framing
      K: 157(0) 26
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 157 26
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1012 8.5925
      L: 1264 216
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 15811 15752
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1075178 133892
      RSCorr: 3869 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3164982 0
      Data Cells: 180581 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 18 0
      AS: 269

      INP: 1.62 1.18
      PER: 1.92 1.87
      delay: 8.81 8.59
      OR: 29.05 29.79

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 5 min 1 sec
      SF = 15811
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 1 sec
      SF = 15811
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 1 sec
      SF = 15811
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 8
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x 8
      ChipSet SerialNumber:


      And this is the stats now..

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.199.159.103 P-t-P:87.87.249.252 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:3298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:2724 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:3194398 (3.0 MiB) TX bytes:1157186 (1.1 MiB)

      Uptime 555.04 527.76
      Wan up 44.02 30.32
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 640 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1472 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 7.0
      Attn(dB): 50.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1632 736
      Rate (Kbps): 1472 640
      G.dmt framing
      K: 47(0) 21
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 8 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 47 21
      M: 4 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.3333 8.7272
      L: 384 176
      D: 8 4
      Counters
      SF: 30915 30915
      SFErr: 0 2
      RS: 525558 261774
      RSCorr: 502 31
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1824680 0
      Data Cells: 69047 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      AS: 527

      INP: 1.33 1.45
      PER: 1.89 1.90
      delay: 8.66 8.72
      OR: 29.53 29.33

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 30915
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 30915
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 30915
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 8
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x 8
      ChipSet SerialNumber:



      Don't know what all that means... except that it's gotten worse!!

      Thanks for any info
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Er... help!-28th-augusts.jpg   Er... help!-30august-test-sockets.jpg  
      Last edited by Zipperface; 30-08-11 at 12:58 PM. Reason: pic problems


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Er... help!

      My Line Attenuation has gone up quite a bit. Doesn't that mean i've moved away from the phone exchange?!
      The attenuation is a measurement of the length and condition of your line. It looks like yours has developed a fault. Any noise on your voice line? Plug a corded phone into the test socket on its own, dial 1 digit and listen. Any noise other than a very faint hiss, indicates a line fault.

      Bring up the router stats page and dial your own number, does the noise margin increase? If so this also indicates a line fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Zipperface (30-08-11)

    5. #3
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Er... help!

      It definitely seems like a line fault.

      No dialling tone earlier + crackling on the line! Also when i use the phone the router re syncs!

      Just tried calling Sky. Got a message at the beginning that they are extremely busy & the wait would be about twenty minutes!! i'll try again later...

    6. #4
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Er... help!

      You should be calling your landline provider first as there's clearly a fault there. Don't mention any broadband issues though , just the noise etc.

    7. #5
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Er... help!

      We're with Sky talk, so i tried calling them, but the wait was too long so i'm going to try a bit later.

    8. #6
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Er... help!

      Another day, another dilemma!!
      Couldn't get this sorted yesterday due to work in the evening!

      Ok, so i've got just a corded phone (into a microfilter) and the router plugged into the test socket. I've attached a pic of the stats & as you can see it's not got much better.

      Each time the phone is used the router looses connection & re syncs.

      I've tried both the microfilters with the same result. I can't belive that both filters went bad at the same time!

      Also the noise on the line is intermittent. At times it's VERY noticeable, while other times quite quiet!

      I did speak to a lady at Sky talk yesterday who said she could escalate it to BT/Openreach. Sounded promising until she said that if the fault was the master socket in the house we'd have to pay 99 call out fee plus 60 for something else (couldn't make out what she said because of the noise!)

      My dad did see a couple of BT vans down near the green box on sunday working. And when trying to use skype video sunday evening we had a bad (red) connection. Maybe they knackered something up then??

      Could it be the router??

      It definitely seems to be an outside problem.... but the callout charge has me a bit worried!
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Er... help!-31aug.jpg  

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Er... help!

      she said that if the fault was the master socket in the house we'd have to pay 99 call out fee plus 60
      That is the normal procedure, but she is wrong about the master socket. The master socket belongs to BT, what she meant was if the fault was in your internal wiring, you would be charged. This is all the extensions which are behind the master socket. As you are testing from the Test socket, you have nothing to worry about

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Er... help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is the normal procedure, but she is wrong about the master socket. The master socket belongs to BT, what she meant was if the fault was in your internal wiring, you would be charged. This is all the extensions which are behind the master socket. As you are testing from the Test socket, you have nothing to worry about
      Just got off the phone to Sky, and the lady confirmed what you said about the test socket we are covered from the test socket out.... so after talking to her on a crackly corded phone plugged straight into the test socket (which she commented sounded bad) an engineer visit has been booked.

      Hopefully it'll all be sorted upon the 'morrow!

    11. #9
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Er... help!

      All fixed now

      The engineer said something about a compression cable between the green box & the exchange needed replacing!?

      Anyhoo... does anyone think it's worth calling Sky to get my BB line looked at/reset, to try to get any extra speed out of it??
      When i first joined Sky a few years back the router would sync around 5200ish. Now it never syncs any higher than 4992, which is what it re-synced at when the line was fixed earlier.

      Here are my stats now for the tech minded peoples to look at....

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.199.159.128 P-t-P:87.87.249.252 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:19144 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:12883 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:23104257 (22.0 MiB) TX bytes:3952980 (3.7 MiB)

      Uptime 2003.91 1939.03
      Wan up 94.35 79.56
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 800 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4992 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 5664 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 4992 800
      G.dmt framing
      K: 157(0) 26
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 157 26
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1012 8.5925
      L: 1264 216
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 116170 116177
      SFErr: 0 16
      RS: 7899590 986493
      RSCorr: 4195 29
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 14
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 23251931 0
      Data Cells: 495918 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      AS: 1973

      INP: 1.62 1.18
      PER: 1.92 1.87
      delay: 8.81 8.59
      OR: 29.05 29.79

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 33 min 23 sec
      SF = 116170
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 33 min 23 sec
      SF = 116170
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 23 sec
      SF = 11977
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51270
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 8
      ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x 8
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

      Could i get any better, or should i just leave it?
      Surely the worst that can happen is that it stays the same speed as now?!?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Er... help!-1st-sep.jpg  
      Last edited by Zipperface; 01-09-11 at 11:15 AM. Reason: Add a screen grab pic

    12. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Er... help!

      As your line has been repaired it may now allow the ADSL2+ mode to run on it. Call Sky and ask them to try your line on ADSL2+, it may give you a bit more speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION