Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    No ADSL - Router problem?

    This is a discussion on No ADSL - Router problem? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone help? My Sky b/band connection hasn't worked since yesterday morning. When I try to go online I just ...

    1. #1
      Jez2011's Avatar
      Jez2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      No ADSL - Router problem?

      Can anyone help?

      My Sky b/band connection hasn't worked since yesterday morning. When I try to go online I just get a Sky page that says, "Warning: Your internet connection is not available, please try again in a few minutes".

      I have already checked:

      - my computer's settings (inc WiFi) and they are all ok.
      - my phone line, which is ok.
      - that I'm using mircofilters on all my phone sockets and that the router is plugged into the master socket.
      - resetting my router.
      - that there are no faults in my area reported on Sky's website.

      There is no '@' light at all coming on on my router (whether green or amber, flashing or solid).

      My router is a Sagem.

      I've called Sky but, since I'm not at home at the moment, they said that there's nothing they can do until they go through the usual troubleshooting steps with me (... yawn - see above!). What really annoyed me is that Sky said that if my router was faulty, which I'm fairly sure is the case, I'd have to pay for a new one because the existing one is out of warranty!

      Has anyone got any other suggestions?

      thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      There is no '@' light at all coming on on my router
      Sagems are plagued with faulty PSUs. If you have another 12v PSU try that and see if there is any difference. If you have another router, plug that in and see if it syncs with the exchange.

      With regards replacing your router, you can try threatening to cancel the service if you don't get a free one as Sky force you to use their router. You may get a replacement foc or they may just transfer you to Cancellations.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Jez2011 (30-08-11)

    5. #3
      Jez2011's Avatar
      Jez2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      Thanks - I'll have a hunt around to see if I've got another PSU to try.

      I should have said that the 'on' lights do show yellow; its just the '@' that isn't lit, so there is power going to the router - is this still likely to be a faulty PSU? I would have thought that a PSU either worked or it didn't?

      I'm certaintly not prepared to pay for another router - I think Sky are being completely unreasonable, since they supplied the router which seems now to be fautly and I'm already paying them 12.50pm for b/band. I don't really care that the router may be out of warranty, Sky supplied it and it should last for more than a year.

      (I had a similar issue with an 18 month mobile phone contract on o2 - when the mobile developed a fault after a year o2 initially tried to tell me that it was my problem since they only gave a 12 month warranty. A strongly worded email pointing out o2's responsiblity to provide goods that are fit for purpose changed thier mind and they provided a replacement phone.

      But I do think it wrong that big corporations aren't prepared to stand by the products they supply and try to hide behind limited warranty periods. [rant over!] )

    6. #4
      Jez2011's Avatar
      Jez2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      Just been on the phone to Sky - they refused to send me a new router without a 25 charge, so I cancelled my broadband and will be signing up with either BT or O2, where I can get a slightly better deal. I was surprised they didn't offer to supply a new router for free, but there you are!

    7. #5
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      You do realise that O2 do some heavy traffic management unless you're on the top, expensive package.

      You may get some financial incentive eg 3 or 6 months free with BT or O2 but their broadband service generally is not nearly as good as Sky's.

      Guess really it depends how you use the service really but I think you may have jumped a little too quick.

      By "cancelled" I hope you mean asked for your MAC code and not really cancelled!

    8. #6
      Jez2011's Avatar
      Jez2011 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      You do realise that O2 do some heavy traffic management unless you're on the top, expensive package.

      You may get some financial incentive eg 3 or 6 months free with BT or O2 but their broadband service generally is not nearly as good as Sky's.

      Guess really it depends how you use the service really but I think you may have jumped a little too quick.

      By "cancelled" I hope you mean asked for your MAC code and not really cancelled!
      Yes - I looked into all the best deals before calling Sky. Only time will tell if o2 will be better/worse than Sky, but it will certainly be cheaper - with 3 months free, it'll work out at 9.37pm, compared with 12.50pm with Sky plus an extra 25 for the router, saving 62.50 over the year.

      It's also the principle of the thing, I've been a loyal Sky customer for years and I think they have a chuzpah charging me for a new router when the one that they supplied is faulty.

      When I say "cancelling", I asked for my MAC code and gave the 1 month notice to terminate (having read elsewhere on this forum that if you cancel straightway this can cause problems), although I still won't have broadband for a few weeks until o2 is connected since my Sky router is bust.

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No ADSL - Router problem?

      Why don't you get your own router?

      Extracting the password from the Sky router is a simple enough task.

      The result is that you can have a much better router than Sky supplies and you still get their BB service.

      Any ADSL2+ router would suffice. You could even get a cheap WiFi n router for around 15.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION