Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39
    Like Tree7Likes

    activation update --

    This is a discussion on activation update -- within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; activation due to go live on wed 31st aug....... but on - track my order its saying - processing. should ...

    1. #1
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile activation update --

      activation due to go live on wed 31st aug.......
      but on - track my order its saying - processing.

      should it not now be showing the date for activation or something ?

      i phone sky this morning ( really nice helpful guy on other end ).....he said everything is OK, and its on schedule for wed switch on.......

      if the man from delmonte say yeh.....thats good enough for me


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: activation update --

      The webpage is often 2 or 3 days behind 'real time'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      bigj2552 (29-08-11)

    5. #3
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: activation update --

      sky have done it again.....
      Ordered my broadband 7 days ago - and true to there word, got connected today, as they promised.

      I moved from my old house 3wks ago, but i wanted a new line/number installed in new house, thats why it took BT so long ( 2wks ).....
      Sky were on the ball gave me a date for activation, no fuss, no hassle, its ON !.


      any time i phoned sky, i always got someone pleasent and helpful - the hint to this is - at what time you phone them at, as to whether you get english person or, some india guy - DO YOUR RESEARCH PEOPLE - ASK OTHERS BEST TIME TO PHONE.

      I know others on here and on the other sky forum are having a terrible time with connections ect.....

      i kept my BT line and ONLY got LLU broadband from sky....most of the people who are complaining are taking the full package's - phone line/bb/tv......Im think THIS is where thew problem lies - either with BT not comunicating properly with sky or the other way around....

      and....

      a lot of people complaining about there broadband are on SKY CONNECT ( UP TO 8MEG )......

      Again - DO YOUR RESEARCH PEOPLE about sky connect - its still going through the BT backhaul.

      The people complaining about this service give off the wrong impression that skys LLU service is the same - IT AINT - chalk n cheese.


      And i also live in a small town ( 12000 people ) - i also wonder if thats anything to do with all the problems others have been having - the bigger the town/city - the obviously more stretched BT are gonna be with work load ect
      Yes i know i got 10 days of DLM - but your told that well in advance


      anyway.....THANK YOU AGAIN SKY for delivering the llu broadband when you said you would.

      Just thought i would post some POSITIVE feedback for a change to let others know they aint as bad as others make out.

      heres my stats so far - DLM has not started yet.

      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7.5 dB 6.4 dB
      Noise Margin 15.3 dB 18.4 dB






      regards

      johnny...
      Last edited by bigj2552; 31-08-11 at 12:41 PM.

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: activation update --

      Nice praise, but I am a little concerned about your stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by bigj2552 View Post
      heres my stats so far - DLM has not started yet.

      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7.5 dB 6.4 dB
      Noise Margin 15.3 dB 18.4 dB
      Your Line Attenuation indicates that you should be in line for a 20Mb connection (hopefully faster than my own), but I am not convinced that this will happen.

      You don't have a lot of room on the Noise Margins to allow for the improvement.

      If you have any telephone extensions, please purchase an ADSL Filtered Faceplate and use it ASAP. They don't cost a fortune, but it could be what makes the difference.

      One of the most expensive source is Maplins (17.99). run-IT-direct & ADSL Nation do have the the same ones available at around half the price.

      DLM will kick in sometime over the next 3 days or so. Once started it will last up to 10 days, but could be complete in as few as 3.

      Don't panic though as you can always get your connection manually configured once DLM has completed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: activation update --

      hi scubbie....

      only have 1 master socket coming into flat....no other sockets anywhere in the house !.( old flat )
      so router connected to that via the usual filter supplied....
      would the plate make any more differance ?

      http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...roducts_id=105

      i,m also on wireless as well ATM....

      edit......
      just noticed a grey wire coming out from under the carpet in hall....goes upstairs to bedroom.....its a grey extension cable....they obviuosly wanted phone extension upstairs, cause there are NO other face plates in flat bar the master(only) in the hall...
      i dont need this as my phone is cordless anyway......this extension cable should not affect broadband in any way..should it ?
      Last edited by bigj2552; 31-08-11 at 04:40 PM.

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: activation update --

      If you only have one socket a filtered faceplate will make little difference except for cosmetics and a better quality filter. If you have an NTE5 box, plug it into the test socket just in case the faceplate is faulty.

      Wireless makes no difference to stats, only to actual throughput.

      I would not worry too much at the moment. You have a very short line so your noise margin is probably OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: activation update --

      good afternoon ....thanks for reply.

      my new flat i have moved into is only 50yards away from my old flat...
      hers the stats from my old flat when i first got sky b/b install

      day 3 stats from old flat -
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 945 / 12,286
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7.5 / 14.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 15.5 / 7.5


      and stats from new flat i,m in now -
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7.5 dB 6.4 dB
      Noise Margin 15.4 dB 18.5 dB


      i was getting around 14meg before i phoned up sky in last flat....they fired it up to max of 18meg connection......
      so could i be on course for the same ?

      sorry for the confusing up/down being back to front....makes it harder to compare i know....was using differant router at time
      Last edited by bigj2552; 31-08-11 at 05:24 PM.

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: activation update --

      Lower attenuation should give you the full whack, unless the line has become corroded with all that salty sea air.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: activation update --

      just plugged it into test socket ---

      stats from test socket -

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7.5 dB 6.3 dB
      Noise Margin 15.3 dB 18.6 dB


      with plate on -

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7.5 dB 6.4 dB
      Noise Margin 15.4 dB 18.5 dB


      not much of a differance....i take it the face plate is working ok then ?

    12. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: activation update --

      Yes, just stick the plate back on and sit back and wait for the speed to go up

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION