Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Broadband crashes when using phone.

    This is a discussion on Broadband crashes when using phone. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Broadband crashes when we use the phone. It usually crashes at the start of the call and then reconnects during ...

    1. #1
      Courtmount's Avatar
      Courtmount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Broadband crashes when using phone.

      Broadband crashes when we use the phone. It usually crashes at the start of the call and then reconnects during the call and then crashes again at the end of the call and doesn't reconnect for a minute or two.

      I have the Broadband modem, the Sky + box and the phone plugged into the one socket. This problem started after moving although as far as I can tell we are still using the same kit and configuration as before.

      All the kit is as supplied by sky.

      The Sky+ box and router are plugged into a spliter which is conected by the sky cable to the phone jack and the phone is plugged into that as per the attached photos.





    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      Setup should be (ideally):

      Master socket>Filter>Modem side to router/Phone side to anything else in the house

      Basically, the microfilter should go into the phone socket first and that adapter into the filter on the phone side. As it stands, your phone isn't filtered so no wonder you're having issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Courtmount's Avatar
      Courtmount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      OK I've put a filter between the phone line and the plug in the 2nd photo and it seems to have done the trick... wait out.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      You may wish to post your routers stats.

      Because of the way your Internet was connected it is possible that DLM has capped you lower than what is possible on your line.

      How to get your router statistics

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      381
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Setup should be (ideally):

      Master socket>Filter>Modem side to router/Phone side to anything else in the house

      Basically, the microfilter should go into the phone socket first and that adapter into the filter on the phone side. As it stands, your phone isn't filtered so no wonder you're having issues
      Quote Originally Posted by Courtmount View Post
      OK I've put a filter between the phone line and the plug in the 2nd photo and it seems to have done the trick... wait out.
      Ha, ha ! This was the mistake I too made and these guys on this forum sorted me out!

      I don't know why Sky's instructions aren't nice'n'simple like this - they seem to suggest connecting microfilters to all'n'sundry...

      Sadly I had that lived with that mistake for 2 years

      And Scubbie's advice to recontact Sky for a new cap is spot on and advice I followed to good result....

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      Calling all depends if the line is actually capped, though
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband crashes when using phone.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Calling all depends if the line is actually capped, though
      Agreed, which is why I asked the OP to post the router stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      ...it is possible that DLM has capped you lower than what is possible on your line.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION