Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Using phone reconnects broadband

    This is a discussion on Using phone reconnects broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have suddenly started having connection problems since yesterday. I couldn't connect to the internet but have found that when ...

    1. #1
      vanmunchen's Avatar
      vanmunchen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using phone reconnects broadband

      I have suddenly started having connection problems since yesterday. I couldn't connect to the internet but have found that when I use the telephone it reconnects. Does anyone know why using the phone would restore the connection. I fitted a new filter but the problem remains i.e. I keep losing the connection, until I make a phone call. I only found out that using the phone reconnects my connection when I phoned Sky to report the problem - and was able to say at the time that the connection had suddenly come back - alas all too briefly as it turned out!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      Looks like an internal wiring issue. Plug your router into the test socket and then use your phone again. See if your connection still drops.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      This is the symptom of a high resistance fault. Call you phone provider and report a fault on your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      vanmunchen's Avatar
      vanmunchen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      Thanks for the replies. I've put the router and phone into the test socket which seems to have cured the problem. Does that mean I have a faulty socket front plate? BT have suggested replacing it.

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      It would make sense to replace the whole socket TBH, if you have extensions consider a filtered faceplate too :-

      NTE5
      Openreach Branded NTE5
      ADSL Faceplates
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      vanmunchen's Avatar
      vanmunchen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      Looks like I spoke too soon. I'm still losing the broadband connection even with it plugged into the test socket and also have crackling on the line. BT have now agreed to send an engineer out.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using phone reconnects broadband

      High resistance fault

      Mention the symptoms to the engineer when he comes and he should have an idea what it wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION