Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

    This is a discussion on just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello I have just knocked the face plate off for my dsl line (I have a filter plate installed with ...

    1. #1
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      hello

      I have just knocked the face plate off for my dsl line (I have a filter plate installed with the seperate dsl and tel connections)

      the phone stoppped working so I have reconnected what I think is the right wires to the terminals

      I have now re sync the router and ive gone from a 8396kbs connection to the below, obviously a big problem, do I just turn the router off till tomorrow and try and sync in the morning or have I done somthing wrong?

      Status: Up
      Downstream Rate: 4469 Kbps
      Upstream Rate: 764 Kbps




      Multiplexing: VC
      QoS: UBR
      PCR:
      SCR:
      Autodetect: Disable
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      Enable: 1
      PVC Status: Up


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      heres another set of stats

      can anyone help

      dont fancy working with 4meg when I can have 8-9 as i shoudl

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4469 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 19.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.0 db

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      Take off the faceplate and plug into the Test socket, post your stats from there.
      How to get your router statistics

      You may have damaged the faceplate, where you put the wires on a filtered faceplate should not matter, as long as you have put them on the numbered terminals and not on the AB terminals.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Take off the faceplate and plug into the Test socket, post your stats from there.
      How to get your router statistics

      You may have damaged the faceplate, where you put the wires on a filtered faceplate should not matter, as long as you have put them on the numbered terminals and not on the AB terminals.

      fixed it
      back upto about 82..kpbs connection rate

      not at home at the mo but im sure I had the black wire connected to the a or the b terminal and then the green to one of the numbered terminals maybe one

      its works as good as it did before

      all ok for now haha

      im going to screw the faceplate on properly!!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      82..kpbs connection rate
      That's very fast, for dial up.

      Wires should be fitted to terminals 2 and 5 on the faceplate. Wires connected to the A or B terminals are not filtered.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      Quote Originally Posted by doc12inch View Post
      ... but im sure I had the black wire connected to the a or the b terminal and then the green to one of the numbered terminals maybe one
      That sounds like the second pair in dropwire rather than internal wiring.

      If that is your incoming line it is probably connected in the wrong place.
      It should go to the AB terminals on the back part of the NTE5 not the filtered faceplate.

      Andy

    8. #7
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just had an issue with faceplate now reconnected speed halved

      Ill.have a looksy and drop a pic in

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION