Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Working from home with SKY Broadband

    This is a discussion on Working from home with SKY Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am starting a new job in a couple of weeks and I will be working from home most ...

    1. #1
      andyf10001's Avatar
      andyf10001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Hi, I am starting a new job in a couple of weeks and I will be working from home most of the time. Does anyone know where SKY stands with its customers running an online business using SKY Broadband?

      Thanks,

      Andy
      Last edited by Saturday; 21-08-11 at 10:24 PM. Reason: Removed advertising - see forum rules


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Extract from T & Cs
      2. Using Sky Broadband
      (a) Sky Broadband is for private use by you and members of your household only. It must not be used for any commercial or business purpose.
      Sky Terms and Conditions - Broadband

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Rules of our forum

      Advertising Services

      We do not allow people to post threads or to send private messages or emails to users here that advertise or solicit any products or services. Explicit advertising and solicitating in sigs is also prohibited.

      We do not allow anyone using referral links in their sigs, and retain the right to suspend or remove said adverts.

      Links in Sigs

      Links in signatures must follow these guidelines:
      Promotional text for a commercial product or service is ok, provided there are no price(s) of product(s) or service(s) listed. No URL's are allowed.
      A link and promotional text for a site that is not commercial and does not contain product(s) and/or service(s) is allowed, provided the site is not sexual or does not violate Skyuser.co.uk community standards. The Skyuser.co.uk team shall be the sole arbitrator of what does and what does not violate community standards. (Examples include sites about drugs and/or sex.)
      Duplicate links to the same URL in a sig are not allowed.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Whilst it is against T&Cs, which does mean that you will not be compensated for loss of earnings should the connection go down for a few days, generally many people do use the Sky connection for business usage.

      If you are planning on hosting a website, I would seriously recommend against hosting it at home. It would be better & safer to rent a server or space on a server elsewhere.

      There are many services that business users might want from their broadband. The Sky routers can't deal with many of these.

      If you are serious about working from home, it would make good sense to have a 2nd telephone line installed with a business broadband package. As much as it is handy to use your domestic BB package, this way you'll be able to set up a specific place in your home to run your fledgling business.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      p17blo's Avatar
      p17blo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Keresley CMKER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I posted a similar response on another thread.

      I don't think this is against the T&Cs. It is open to interpretation (as are all good T&Cs ). However it makes it pretty much legally unenforceable.

      Tht said service providers such as sky do hold the upper hand as they can easily act first (ie disconnection) which would likely be more hassle than its worth.

      What I can tell you is it is EXTREMELY unlikely they will even be able to detect this type of 'commercial' activity.

      I'm my experience these clauses lurk in T&Cs to protect ISPs from 2 things. Overage (over use) and SPAM and related similar activities that have a high complaint rate.

      Paul

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by p17blo View Post
      What I can tell you is it is EXTREMELY unlikely they will even be able to detect this type of 'commercial' activity.
      I beg to differ.

      If you were attempting to run a small business with say 10 people on your Internet connection & also hosting a website, the type of traffic which that would generate would very quickly flag up on Sky's servers.

      For me though, the points I made about service level is going to become very important for anyone working from home. If you are running a business that requires you to ship out products daily, then you cannot afford to lose your connection.

      If you are doing on-line quotes, such as an Insurance Broker, then again you need you Internet connection.

      A business line will be connected sooner than a domestic line. If it is down for more than a few hours, then you will be compensated for it.

      The next issue is services such as VPN. The Sky router does not support this kind of feature. If you want to go out on the road & dial home, a VPN is one potential method of doing business.

      There are ways around this, such as using your own router, but it does mean more expense for a service that isn't really aimed at the business market.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      One of the main reasons why Sky state this in their T&Cs is so that they don't get sued for 'loss of earnings' if your service goes down.

    9. #8
      p17blo's Avatar
      p17blo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Keresley CMKER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Working from home with SKY Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I beg to differ.

      If you were attempting to run a small business with say 10 people on your Internet connection & also hosting a website, the type of traffic which that would generate would very quickly flag up on Sky's servers.
      Yes, I agree - I was saying that if you connect to your place of work (ie being at a different location) they are unlikely to detect it.

      Hosting of services etc I think I would interpret as commercial activity.

      There is, at least in my interpretation, a difference between using you internet connection to connect OUT to your place of work, that to allow other to connect IN to you.

      Having re-read what I have typed I'm not sure that I am making the differentiation clear enough, am I?

      Paul

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION