Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Odd IP addres and city

    This is a discussion on Odd IP addres and city within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; One thing that has really been affected is my upload speeds, the are under half of what I wa getting ...

    1. #11
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd IP addres and city

      One thing that has really been affected is my upload speeds, the are under half of what I wa getting before.....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd IP addres and city

      Once the phone line is fixed, you should go back to normal. You are lucky you are still with BT, you would probably been given a date sometime next week with Sky if you were lucky

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      jakewc2 (19-08-11)

    5. #13
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd IP addres and city

      Yeh, they call me up all the time, trying to get me to change over, but I dont want the 12 month contract, plus if I ever leave sky, I wont have so much hastle, not that I am thinking of it, but you never know....

      I just checked, my IP address now says Dundee.....go figure.....

    6. #14
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Odd IP addres and city

      Got a few problems, BT man came this morning, changed box as the box I have is old, and they dont carry them anymore.....once the box was changed, we found out that the lead from the Sky box to the filter is something else that is causing a problem......its so bad it will actually cause the router to stop working......the noise of crackling is even worse now, if we remove that, its ok, and the internet doesnt drop........that is bizzarre......so, have to wait till Thursday for sky engineer to come out to change the lead.......bit of a joke, they could just send it out.......

    7. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Odd IP addres and city

      It may not be the cable, Sky digiboxes are particularly bad for causing noise on the line. Some of them need a high quality filter to stop the noise. The ones supplied by Sky are just not up to it.

      My advice would be, if you don't have multi room, don't plug it in at all except when you want to use it to order a box office event. If you have multi room it must be kept plugged in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION