Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Just joined Sky and could do with some help

    This is a discussion on Just joined Sky and could do with some help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm brand new to Sky and moved to them a few weeks back after moving house. We have TV ...

    1. #1
      Charged's Avatar
      Charged is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham - Bucks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Hi,

      I'm brand new to Sky and moved to them a few weeks back after moving house. We have TV Phone and Broadband with them.

      I'm a complete idiot when it comes to understanding broadband ....

      I waited until the activation date (5th August) for the broadband and setup the router. I was getting quite fast speeds for the first 6-7 days then it started acting up and disconnecting for a few minutes, and now the speed has suddenly dropped.

      I assume this is from the line checking that Sky say they do for the first 10 days. When I log into the My Sky it says that the line checking started on the 7th, so I have a couple more days until the 10 days is up but i'm wondering if this is the speed I'm going to be getting.

      The stats from the router are - (Thanks for the tutorial btw)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2240 kbps 746 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.5db 30.1db
      Noise Margin 17.1db 10.5db

      When I checked the stats a few days ago the Connection speed downstream was something like 4???kbps but I can't remember any of the other numbers.

      Can anyone tell by my stats if the checking is done and this is what I'm going to get ??

      Many thanks

      J


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Do you have Sky tv plugged into any telephone sockets? If so, describe exactly how it's connected to the socket.

    4. #3
      Charged's Avatar
      Charged is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham - Bucks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Do you have Sky tv plugged into any telephone sockets? If so, describe exactly how it's connected to the socket.
      A bit of googling and I might have a bad setup lol

      We have 4 phone points in the house. Kitchen / living room and bedroom on 1st floor & bedroom on 2nd floor.

      I have a 10m phone line extension going from the living room one, round the room to the "office". Then a micro filter with the house phone / Sky box cable & router connected with the cable provided.

      I would connect the router directly to the socket but my wires pc doesn't have wireless .... my macbook does haha

      This isn't going to e a good set up is it ??

    5. #4
      Charged's Avatar
      Charged is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham - Bucks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      I know it says not to switch off the router within 10 days ... and if I have screwed things up then I'm sure it can be fixed haha

      BUT I just connected the router to the socket and my new stats are


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3986 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0db 28.9db
      Noise Margin 7.0db 11.0db


      It looks like the wife needs a new wireless pc !!

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Quote Originally Posted by Charged View Post
      This isn't going to e a good set up is it ??
      Unfortunately not. It's not uncommon for a line to show a high SNR yet something wrong in the set-up.

      You're best getting rid of the extension and getting the router connected to the master socket as follows:

      master socket > microfilter > short grey dsl cable Sky provided > router

      Plug the tv and phone into the 'phone' port on the filter using the splitter that came with Sky tv. From there, run either a long ethernet cable to the computer, buy a wireless adapter or home-plugs. And any other sockets in use, ensure a filter is connected as the first thing into them sockets.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Just seen your last post there. Stats are a good bit better. DLM, Sky's training tool, has likely set some heavy noise protection whilst the set-up was incorrect, so ensure you've made the improvements I said above and leave things as they are until the end of the training period and hopefully you'll see some more improvements.

    8. #7
      Charged's Avatar
      Charged is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham - Bucks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Thanks for your replies

      I'll get things setup in the way you described and get a long cable for the pc.

      I have just realised that the phone in our bedroom doesn't have a filter, so I assume this could also affect things. I have another filter but I wait til the morning as I'm sure my wife doesn't want me waking her up haha

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Quote Originally Posted by Charged View Post
      I have just realised that the phone in our bedroom doesn't have a filter, so I assume this could also affect things
      Yup, spot on. Rule of thumb is any telephone socket in use has to have a filter connected as the first thing into the socket. No extensions or splitters before the filter.

      Get all the wiring sorted out and keep the router at the master socket without the extension cable and you'll see some improvements by the end of the DLM training period.

      No probs.

    10. #9
      Charged's Avatar
      Charged is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham - Bucks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined Sky and could do with some help

      Everything is how it should be now and the numbers are looking a bit better

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 789 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0db 29.0db
      Noise Margin 5.7db 10.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION