Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    lost connection

    This is a discussion on lost connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Was watching a video on YouTube last night when the video crashed I noticed the internet light on the router ...

    1. #1
      longleyleeds's Avatar
      longleyleeds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      lost connection

      Was watching a video on YouTube last night when the video crashed I noticed the internet light on the router had gone off, reset the router everything worked as normal again but 10 mins later same happened now after numerous resets the internet light won't come back on, doesn't even flash amber. It just flashes green twice and goes off.

      I'm already on my third router from sky, really don't want to go through sky customer services script again as I have done it so many times


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      longleyleeds's Avatar
      longleyleeds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Tested router at a friends and it lights up like a Christmas tree, at mine only the power light and the wireless light

    4. #3
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Ring sky and have it logged as a fault. Have you checked if you have got dial tone? If you don't have dial tone either then you will have to ring the company you pay your line rental to instead.

      Make sure you mention that you tested the router at a friends house and it worked fine.

    5. #4
      longleyleeds's Avatar
      longleyleeds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Yeah checked for a dial tone everythings fine in that area

    6. #5
      longleyleeds's Avatar
      longleyleeds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Phoned sky reported fault they did a line test and results were perfect apparently

      So its nothing on my end as nothing as changed, router is fine as tested at a friends house and there is no fault on the line.

      What else is there?

    7. #6
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      378
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Have you tried another micro filter?

    8. #7
      longleyleeds's Avatar
      longleyleeds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Tried another microfilter and still nothing

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: lost connection

      Post your stats please, from your normal router position and from the Test socket, using only the ADSL cable supplied by Sky.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      When Sky test your line they normally only check it for voice performance, it may well have a fault which is interfering with the broadband only.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION