Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

    This is a discussion on Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi! We've recently moved house and have since got a new line once again from Sky (previously used them in ...

    1. #1
      djdclarke's Avatar
      djdclarke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: djdclarke@gmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

      Hi! We've recently moved house and have since got a new line once again from Sky (previously used them in my old flat and was very happy). The DLM has now completed and the line has been capped at 2mb which is about half of what other residents in the building get when it comes to other ISPs. I understand the Noise Margin on Sky DLM is set to be around 7db and as such won't go any faster if it can't get 7db which I spose makes sense, what doesn't make sense however is my small tad bits of research.

      The Sky Router that was provided to us was the Sagem black ones and that provided 6.7db Noise Margin at this point of time. I then decided to try and use a Netgear DG834G that I had about (at this point I'd like to stress I know using non-official routers isn't supported and will be returning to the other router) and once again viewed the noise ratio - it's nice and stable at 11db. What could be causing such a massive difference in noise ratio between the two routers, and is there anything I could do to get my speed up even with the Sagem reporting poor noise ratios?


      Netgear DG834G Router


      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 15 db

      Sagem Sky Router

      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13 db

      Thanks, and Hi!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

      Different chipsets will give you different noise margins.

      You can ring Sky with your Netgear router plugged in and ask them to bump the speed up a little.

    4. #3
      djdclarke's Avatar
      djdclarke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: djdclarke@gmail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

      As much as I'd love to do this I'm pretty sure Sky would just respond with a complaint I'm not using an official Sky Router, as in they'd be able to tell wouldn't they?

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

      Chances are they wont find out until you tell them. Just tell them you made improvements to your wiring and was wandering if you could get more speed.

      However make sure you lay emphasis on the fact that you want to stay on G.DMT. Don't let them switch it to ADSL2+.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky & Noise Margin. Help Greatly Appreciated.

      Have you checked your stats in the Test socket?
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you don't have a test socket unplug everything you have plugged into the phone line and plug the router only into the Master socket and take your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION