Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 48

    Need a new router

    This is a discussion on Need a new router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There are 8 here, all Netgear... BT Wireless Routers from PC World - Get NETGEAR BT Wireless Routers online here...

    1. #21
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need a new router



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      Quote Originally Posted by ufo View Post
      I don't mean to jump in on this post, but how can you tell by looking at that tracert what type of router is best for your line?
      What non-Sky router will give me the best speed.

    4. #23
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      Quote Originally Posted by MrMischief View Post
      To be honest the Netgear dgn1000 and dgn2200 has terrible reviews. If you definitely want a Netgear then go for the top end ones.

    5. #24
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need a new router

      I quite like D Link as well. Have used both brands before.

      I am reluctant to get a router I have never heard of, like a Billion.

    6. #25
      MrMischief's Avatar
      MrMischief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Leicester UK
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need a new router

      Well, I popped into PC World and had a look at this:

      NETGEAR Rangemax DGN3500 Wireless Modem Router at cheap prices | PC World

      Is this good?

    7. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      The Netgear DGN3500 looks like a nice router. This is an ADSL2+ compatible router, so should work without any major issues.

      It shares many of the same features as the DGND3700 that I am using, but for around 50 less.

      It only uses the 2.4GHz channels, but does support up to 300mbps over the WiFi.

      The four 1Gbit ports should be useful to connect your computers to one another. If you want to plug a USB dongle or external drive into the USB port at the rear, you can share files between computers. It isn't a DLNA compatible port, meaning you can stream the content to a computer, but not to a TV that support DLNA, for example.

      Looking at the Netgear forums, it seems to be relatively stable. a few minor problems is recent posts, but I personally wouldn't worry too much over those.

      It also appears that you could use the USB port to support a 3G dongle, although you may need an extra item to support this.

      DGN3500

      Wireless Router & Modem Gateways - NETGEAR Forums

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #27
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      Quote Originally Posted by MrMischief View Post
      Right, cheers for that.

      Well, as Sky supply Sagem, I refuse to accept their replacement for 28 because from reviews I read about it, it's crap.

      I am about to pop into PC World and get a new router and input the extracted username and password into it.

      Is there a specific router that is recommended? Which Netgear?
      Just a word of warning. If you get your own router, don't be tempted to throw the Sky one away. If you ever have a Broadband issue, you will need to plug in the Sky router to call them, or they won't be able to help you. Best to stick it in a cupboard somewhere just in case.

    9. #28
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      ive just called sky regarding my original white netgear
      its playing up sometimes it comes on sometimes it dont. its the connection at back of router were mains lead plugs in to
      i was told 28 for the crappy replacement or was told i could wait till 16th aug for the new n router at 35
      i asked her about the t+c with regards to using own router, she siad they dont exist i can use what ever router i like and will not not get cut off
      only thing i wont get is there help configuring it.
      so may have a look round
      can you tell me what is rthe best for my line
      how did you do tthat test thats shown on here for the chipset

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      Quote Originally Posted by markyb View Post
      i asked her about the t+c with regards to using own router, she siad they dont exist i can use what ever router i like and will not not get cut off
      This statement is worrying me. I've just double checked the Sky T&Cs for Broadband.

      Packages
      3. The Wireless Router

      (d) Sky Broadband must only be accessed via your Wireless Router. Your Wireless Router is not supplied as being capable of being used to access any other Internet service.
      The Wireless Router is defined as the one supplied by Sky.

      Essentially she was wrong to state that the Terms & conditions do not exist.

      However it was confirmed in May this year that currently Sky do not punish people for using their own routers. The comment was qualified in respect the 'at the moment'. This implies that they may change the policy in the future.

      In respect of getting the log in details and how to set up your router, this forum contains the necessary information that you will require.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need a new router

      i asked her more than once and she responded that it was not a problem if people wanted to use there own router
      whats the worse that can happen, they loose a customer to another isp

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION