Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 102
    Like Tree1Likes

    Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You would not need to worry about the Netgear DG834G. Pressing the reset button would clear all this anyway. The ...

    1. #31
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      You would not need to worry about the Netgear DG834G. Pressing the reset button would clear all this anyway.

      The Netgear DG834G would be physically replaced by the Sky router.

      All you would need to be concerned over are the following:

      • the default Sky IP address range is 192.168.0.1-192.168.0.255, with the Sky using 192.168.0.1
      • disabling the WiFi on the Sky router
      • if you have set a fixed IP address for your Netgear WNR3500 on the WAN port, then you may want to ensure that this will be fine with the Sky router
      • if you are using the address range 192.168.0.x on the Netgear WNR3500 for your LAN, then you will need to choose between changing the Sky router or the Netgear WNR3500 so that you don't use the same range on both

      The guide will talk you through configuring both routers as it is aimed at a new setup, but it is easy enough to apply the knowledge to an existing setup.

      If you have any questions on how to configure further, please feel free to ask.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Scubbie - thanks again mate. I have to dash off to work now - I'll try to comprehend what you have detailed and maybe back tomorrow

      roz

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      I am told that it's impossible once you have changed it over from Modem/Router mode (what it was designed for) to Modem Only mode, as it is now. I certainly cannot login to it now to check my line's stats for example, as previously stated. The Netgear forums say it's difficult but not impossible - we'll see.
      As Scubbie says, this should be possible by doing a factory reset. Why the Netgear forums don't suggest this I just don't know.
      Scubbie likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Ahh right I see that there is a small recessed button that presumably you can press with a small pen or paper clip - I had forgot about that and didn't know that by doing so, it would revert the router back to the original factory settings as a modem/router. Marvellous!

      Ok then, I will now sit back and await my new Sky offering next Monday - my "package" should be with me today, everything seems on track and ready to go on Monday. Not sure what time things will "change-over" - I am working the early shift on Monday but could plug the Sky Router in before I leave for work at 4am - would this be advisable, as otherwise I won't be home until around 3pm? What do you think? I mean what would be good is if I could set everything up and upon switch over, wireless internet would be on for my wife, who works from home. Maybe I might be asking too much here, but would like to prepare as much as possible.

      roz

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      It isn't crucial whether or not you plug the Sky router in before the connection time.

      Leaving your existing router connected will be just fine. If when you get home you do not have any Internet, then just swap in the Sky router.

      In the mean time, I would recommend that you take a look at the IP settings for your Netgear WNR3500.

      As already mentioned the Sky router will use 192.168.0.1 as it's address. if the Netgear WNR3500 uses the same address range for your LAN, then this will be a problem.

      At the same time, you will need to be prepared to change the WAN address to ensure that it picks up the Sky router if this is not the same.

      You may also need to change the DNS Server addresses if you have been using your provider's servers. Sky's are:

      90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      Alternatively you can use various public DNS servers.

      OpenDNS:
      208.67.222.222
      208.67.220.220

      Google:
      8.8.8.8
      8.8.4.4

      Others: Public DNS Servers
      ::. Kitz - DNS and mail servers .::

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Well I am off to a bad start - my Router arrived today, the old D-Linkl DSL-2604S

      This is not n-draft for wireless which is going to be essential for me. I am not sure under what circumstances you need to extract the username/password etc, but will it be possible to connect up on Monday my WNR3500 router to this DSL unit? Or will it be a complete pain?

      I am on the phone now with the Sky CS team requesting the despatch of an n-draft router, presumably the Saegem 2504N, which I was promised last week. I am aware having read the posts elsewhere in this forum that there has been a delay in despatching this router, although I feel sure that there are members out there who have received it - am I wrong in this assertion? Anyway, the lovely Kellen could only ask me to ring back on or around the 15th August to progress this matter although a note has been placed on my account (alledgedly lol) to the effect that "as the customer requested an n-draft router at the point of sale, that a n-draft router will be despatched free of charge, once they become available. God knows how long that will take!

      So it looks like I will have to immediately plug in the D-Link and marry this to my WNR3500. Hopefully this will be possible with the minimum of fuss? (keeping my fingers crossed). Btw, it took over 1 hour on the phone to get to this point after ringing them at about 10.10am

      Been looking through my account and there isn't yet any note that I can see regarding their promise

      roz

    8. #37
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      The memo/note is added to your account via one of Sky's internal systems, 'Chordiant'. You won't be able to see it from any documentation on your end.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to User05 For This Useful Post:

      rozel (04-08-11)

    10. #38
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Thanks for that - now can I marry the D-Link to my existing Netgear WNR3500?

      roz

    11. #39
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by rozel View Post
      Thanks for that - now can I marry the D-Link to my existing Netgear WNR3500?
      What is the WAN IP Address shown on the WND3500?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      I am not sure under what circumstances you need to extract the username/password etc,
      You will have to hope that the firmware has not been updated, or you will have to back date it to get the details out. Have a look at Fuzzy's thread here for information.
      Sky D-Link DSL-2640S Router How To Get Your Username & Password

      The router has to be connected to the internet to get the details out, but I am not sure whether it has to sync with Sky or whether it would work on your existing connection. It may be mentioned in the thread, or maybe Fuzzy will post and keep you right.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION