Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 102
    Like Tree1Likes

    Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Between 14-16 Mb on ADSL2+ if it's a decent line....

    1. #21
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Between 14-16 Mb on ADSL2+ if it's a decent line.
      Last edited by Exdee; 01-08-11 at 02:45 PM. Reason: Improved wording

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      rozel (02-08-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #22
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Between 14-16 Mb on ADSL2+ if it's a decent line.
      Well an ADSL attenuation of 10dB will be probably be 13dB for ADSL2+ in which case 18-20 meg is more likely. My 31.5dB Attenuation gives me 15.5meg as it is.

    5. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      Well an ADSL attenuation of 10dB will be probably be 13dB for ADSL2+ in which case 18-20 meg is more likely. My 31.5dB Attenuation gives me 15.5meg as it is.
      That is upstream, the downstream is 25dbs, which will become 26-27db.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      rozel (02-08-11)

    7. #24
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Loop loss is the attenuation. You are looking at his snr margin.

    8. #25
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Yep just realised that.

    9. #26
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Between 14-16 Mb on ADSL2+ if it's a decent line.
      Based on the fact that I'm getting 7.3/7.5 Mbps at the mo, I will be more than pleased, especially as I will have an "Umlimited" service and a subscription 8 pm less than what I am paying at present.

      Thanks for your help - much appreciated

      roz

    10. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Remember we quote sync speeds here, you actual download will be 10-15% lower. You should still have almost double the download speed you have and it will always be there, not just when BT feel like giving you it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #28
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Yes thanks, I appreciate that. At the outset, I based my switch to Sky on the potential of getting at least 10Mbps. Anything over that will be a bonus. I have enjoyed great service from my existing provider (Entanet) and will move back to them in a flash, if I do not get the minimum of !0Mbps, which Sky have quoted me. I doubt though that I will have problems, although I do forsee some issues with my extensive home network using Sky's router.

      I am thinking now, that once everything has settled down and assuming I am enjoying faster speeds, to marry up my Netgear WNR3500 Router with Sky's, putting the latter into some form of "Modem Only" mode. That way I know I will get great wireless coverage and Gigabit Ethernet speeds.

      I hope this will be a possibilty when the time comes. Otherwise I will utilise my existing setup completely, my existing Netgear DG834G v3 and WNR3500, which work perfectly right now.

      roz

    12. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by rozel View Post
      I am thinking now, that once everything has settled down and assuming I am enjoying faster speeds, to marry up my Netgear WNR3500 Router with Sky's, putting the latter into some form of "Modem Only" mode. That way I know I will get great wireless coverage and Gigabit Ethernet speeds.
      As mentioned previously, you could do this quite easily.

      Should you need to know how to configure the Sky router, then please feel free to see the thread linked below. whilst the guide is aimed at adding the D-Link DIR613, the process is the same.

      Using the DLink DIR613.

      IMHO it would cause you the least amount of disruption as effectively you are just changing one 'Modem' for another and your own Netgear would remain in control of your LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      rozel (02-08-11)

    14. #30
      rozel's Avatar
      rozel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving To Sky Broadband Unlimited

      Thanks again Scubbie - I will follow the guide as and when.

      Problem is at the mo, that if I ultimately think it would be sensible to keep using my DG834G v3 in Modem Only Mode, I don't know how to log into it to change whatever settings I need to change for Sky's service. I am told that it's impossible once you have changed it over from Modem/Router mode (what it was designed for) to Modem Only mode, as it is now. I certainly cannot login to it now to check my line's stats for example, as previously stated. The Netgear forums say it's difficult but not impossible - we'll see.

      roz

     

     
    Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION