Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    need help anyone have an idea?

    This is a discussion on need help anyone have an idea? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Over the past few days my download speed has dropped and my pc browsing is very slow and laggy I ...

    1. #1
      mccabe1990's Avatar
      mccabe1990 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      need help anyone have an idea?

      Over the past few days my download speed has dropped and my pc browsing is very slow and laggy I did a speed test and it says download speed 440kbps upload speed 588kbps and the average is 4306.01kbps download speed thats a big difference and im on sky unlimited

      heres my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream UpstreamConnection SpeedLine AttenuationNoise Margin
      480 kbps 796 kbps
      48.5 db 28.4 db
      32.1 db 11.9 db



      also ill post this if it helps

      Line connection testing completed on 28/06/2011, resulting in the following settings:

      Download speed setting
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to 6.8Mbps .

      Upload speed setting
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to 0.8Mbps .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: need help anyone have an idea?

      Something is seriously wrong with your connection.

      As a first step, could you double check that EVERY telephone socket in your home has a microfilter installed before anything else. This is especially true in the case of the modem cable that goes to the Sky STB. I know that the splitter supplied at the end of many of them warns against unplugging it, but they must be plugged into the telephone port on the microfilters.

      Next on the list of items to check are burglar alarms. Recently someone posting had one incorrectly wired to the master socket and it bypassed the microfilter completely, even when a filtered faceplate was installed.

      If that all checks out fine, could you recheck your stats. If there is not change, then please connect your router to the Test socket and post your stats again.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: need help anyone have an idea?

      Looks like your connection is heavily capped, this could have been caused by a temporary fault on your line, which is now fixed. Give Sky a call and ask them to raise the cap. Tell them you have improved your wiring and know you can get more if they say you are getting all you can.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: need help anyone have an idea?

      OR, as Scubbie suggested, check everything your end first and reboot the router. If the speed stays as bad then it is capped but sometimes I've seen a line cap itself due to noise issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: need help anyone have an idea?

      Yes, a reboot might sort it out

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION