Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 43

    Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

    This is a discussion on Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Frustratingly, had to reboot the router and have suffered yet another speed drop. Previously was around 4832kbps downstream, 49 dB ...

    1. #1
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Frustratingly, had to reboot the router and have suffered yet another speed drop.


      Previously was around 4832kbps downstream, 49 dB attentuation, 6.9 SNR.(so 4.0mbps).


      Now can't seem to get anything above 4032 kbps, same atten and SNR (dropped to 3.5 mbps, though I'm extremely close to dropping into the 3.0 mbps bracket).


      Some time ago (few years) initially started out on 5.5 mpbs and this worked fine, until the dreaded DLM kicked in and that stuck me firstly with 4.5 mbps, then due to bad weather and power cut had to reboot again eventually 4.0 mbps and now this disaster of 3.5 and almost 3.0.


      Been on phone with Sky but get the usual runaround, check the test socket, change filters - if they had listened when I explained within the first few minutes about the speed dropping and not coming back and also explaining I'd jumped through all those hoops already it could've saved an almost 2 hr frustrating phone call.

      The guy on the phone actually saw the speed drop himself as he fiddled around with resetting the router, but seemed oblivious to this drop. Why do Sky bother hiring such monkeys?

      So to my question, what do I need to ask for?

      On a previous occasion, the Sky engineers were able to tweak my SNR a little and it gave me a few hundred extra on the downstream.

      Are they able to change any settings on their side which would affect attenuation?


      PS - Sky also said, we're trying to force 8mbps down your line but it won't take it, not taking any more than 3.5mbps.

      Yet 30 minutes ago before you started messing, it was able to take 4.0mbps down, so you've made it worse. Please explain?
      Last edited by ufo; 28-07-11 at 07:28 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by ufo View Post
      Why do Sky bother hiring such monkeys?
      Some people actually work for Sky on this forum, so if you're looking for help, how about leaving that type of statement out of your post.

      How do you expect us to help without posting up stats?

    4. #3
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      The one i just spoke was a monkey supposedly named harry, tried telling me that the lower the snr the better and if your snr was high the more unstable the connection would be, you can imagine my response!!!

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      How about you stop calling people monkey and you might actually get some help
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by jorkila View Post
      The one i just spoke was a monkey supposedly named harry, tried telling me that the lower the snr the better and if your snr was high the more unstable the connection would be, you can imagine my response!!!
      SNRs are not part of the basic training to the welcome/help teams. Personally, I won't be bothering to help you.

    7. #6
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Would be best if they didn't comment on stuff they're not trained in perhaps?
      Last edited by jorkila; 26-07-11 at 09:33 PM.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Might help if you don't confuse them with such terms in the first place

      Tier 1's job is to weed out the basic issues from the ones needing CSTs assistance. Play the game, answer the questions honestly and you'll get sorted quicker. Start off by using lingo they're not going to understand will leave you, and the agent, frustrated and you'll get nowhere
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      I am aware that there are some users on here who work for Sky which is why I'm asking for some help/second opinions.



      Apart from the fact that my statement was been taken out of context, my topic/post has also been hijacked by other users.


      Please re-read what I wrote:

      The guy on the phone actually saw the speed drop himself as he fiddled around with resetting the router, but seemed oblivious to this drop. Why do Sky bother hiring such monkeys?
      I am speaking very specifically about Tier 1 here and very specifically about this type of Customer Service Rep who quite frankly doesn't really seem to care less and/or in other words they don't really seem to give a monkeys.

      Please see though and imagine my frustration, the guy watched the speed drop, yet was oblivious to it. And then it dropped again, yet he seemed oblivious to it, again. It was almost as if to him nothing had happened, nor did he care, for he couldn't even remember the previous figures anyway. ...and when I say "watched the speed drop", I literally mean he watched it - for it was right in front of his eyes, but his mind must have been elsewhere. Yet I was courteous to him, as in the end all I want is my problem solved.


      As for posting up stats, what stats do you require... something like below ?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 238113 279046 0 76511 465706 0:17:38
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:19:04
      WLAN 296425 254721 0 481200 81533 0:18:39


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4032 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db


      (Noise margin will usually be around that same number).

      Previously Connection speed was coming in at (for example) 5120 kbps with same Attenuation and Noise Margin of 6.9 db, so something ain't right.

      By the way, I didn't mention anything about attenuation or Noise margin to Tier 1, didn't see much point, just tried to keep it simple.



      EDIT: Just as a minor update, I moved the router around a little and was able to achieve a 7.5dB Noise Margin (the only change being that one single stat) - however, still no change in downstream or anything else even after a reboot, so I am almost convinced it must be capped - what else could it be?
      Last edited by ufo; 27-07-11 at 03:28 AM.

    10. #9
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Back on the phone today, got through to first person, who wanted to go through entire process again.

      Aside from the fact that notes were made, do Tier 1's or managers or whoever not communicate with each other?

      Nicely explained I'd been through all that and wanted to speak to CST since I already had an open case, but after conferring with supervisor, wasn't allowed to speak to CST. Thanked them, but gave up on this call as a lost cause.

      Called straight back and got through to someone else and again they couldn't put me through to CST (what is so elusive about CST especially when I have a case/ticket?), but this person was VERY helpful, discussing the issues properly and even offering the odd piece of advice.

      If only I had a name or actual location I could mention they are worth talking to, though at the same time I still haven't been able to get speaking to CST and still waiting on a call from them.

      From the sound of it though, even if your case is escalated, it only progresses to Tier 2.

      This process is a world away from when I had a problem previously, when even with a wait, you could get through to a Tier 3.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      There are 2 'tiers' - Tier 1 and CST

      Tier 2 and 3 merged the best part of 2 years ago and haven't existed separately since
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION