Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 43

    Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

    This is a discussion on Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There are 2 'tiers' - Tier 1 and CST Tier 2 and 3 merged the best part of 2 years ...

    1. #11
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      There are 2 'tiers' - Tier 1 and CST

      Tier 2 and 3 merged the best part of 2 years ago and haven't existed separately since
      I thought that, but I wasn't gonna argue with the Sky guy, he specifically referred to a "Tier 2".

      Which made me think it was the old Tier 2.


      So how do the Tier 2's and Tier 3's which are now the CST differentiate themselves....

      Do they both work in the same office? Are there Juniors and Seniors or floor workers and supervisors or how does it work?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      They don't, they're one and the same
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05
      If it was rebooting, you'd see all the other lights make some change. Is it just the internet (@) light going off and then flashing amber - solid amber - green? If so, the router is dropping sync..

      Found this on another post, which pretty much confirms what I thought it was, connection must be losing sync.


      When I asked the (first) guy on the phone (initial call) why the amber light was staying on for so long before connecting when previously it would have turned green almost instantly after flashing a few times he didn't seem to have much if any idea.

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Could be down to internal wiring setup issue your end, could be an exchange issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Could be down to internal wiring setup issue your end, could be an exchange issue
      Yes but was simply stating this piece of information confirms there is sync being lost.

      After checking all internal wiring and confirming nothing has changed, pretty sure it's being set (or lost as the case may be) from the exchange to me

      Apart from the fact that I also believe Sky have it capped

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by ufo View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4032 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db
      Going by that you're not capped on your downstream but you are on the upstream
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Going by that you're not capped on your downstream but you are on the upstream



      After many resets of the router, the highest I can presently achieve is this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4352 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db



      I can never get any higher than this right now no matter how hard I try.



      Yet only a few days ago, it was:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4832 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db


      So if I can't get that extra few kbps today that I could get only a few days ago, there must be something stopping me.
      Last edited by ufo; 28-07-11 at 06:41 PM.

    9. #18
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by ufo View Post
      there must be something stopping me.
      That shows noise is stopping the sync going any higher, not a cap. If you're able to train in at higher speeds simply from a reboot, then the line isn't capped.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      What you have to understand is the the noise on a line varies over 24 hours. It is normally at its quietest in the early morning, gradually increasing as the day goes on. How much it increases depends on the individual line. If you reboot your router early in the morning, say around 6am, you should get the maximum speed your line is capable of. Whether it holds this speed depends on the condition of your line and to some extent, your router. Some routers can hold a connection right down to zero db, while others will drop and resync if the noise drops much below 5-6db.

      It is not a good idea to reboot your router too often, this can lead to DLM kicking in and making things worse.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      ufo's Avatar
      ufo
      ufo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speeds dropping on router reset and Speed seems to be stuck?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      That shows noise is stopping the sync going any higher, not a cap. If you're able to train in at higher speeds simply from a reboot, then the line isn't capped.
      I think you are misreading, or maybe I just haven't explained very well.

      For a long time (weeks), I was connected at:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4832 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db



      Recently, I had to reboot and on reboot (no matter how many times I try), I cannot get any higher than:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4352 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db



      Yet the attenuation and Noise Margins are the same. In some cases I can also get my Noise Margin to improve (to 7.3 dB), but even if trying to reconnect, it will not come in any higher than 4352 kbps.

      So what gives?


      PS - The Sky guy on the phone also mentioned that my "Max Attainable" rate was showing as around 4.75mb/s, yet it was obviously training in much lower than this. Is this normal?

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION