Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Need help with IP camera

    This is a discussion on Need help with IP camera within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all, been looking at this forum for a while now as new SKY max user, but need your help ...

    1. #1
      KXD75's Avatar
      KXD75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Need help with IP camera

      hi all,

      been looking at this forum for a while now as new SKY max user, but need your help so have signed up.

      I bought a Foscam IP camera to keep an eye on my dog when I'm at work. I have it setup in the kitchen with good communication to the SKY router (a Sagem).

      I have it setup to send email pictures on movement, so that works. I have opend up the ports to the router and according to PFPortChecker the UDP and TCP are open to go to the 8005 port, which I have setup as http://192.168.0.129:8005
      I can see the camera from within my home network without any problems.

      But the issue is when I go to work, I cant connect at all to the feed. I am trying to connect by typing in my network address: http://90.xxx.xxx.xxx:8005 but the page just doesnt work. tried DYDNS but dont really know what to do with that or even how it works.

      Any help is really welcome, as I have to be at work for long times and would like ot make sure my dog is ok


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      KXD75's Avatar
      KXD75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Also tried changing the port to 1113 for example, but that hasn't done anything..

      Dont know what to do?

    4. #3
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Have you set your router to allow external access on port whatever to 192.168.0.129? Your router needs to direct the traffic to your camera.

      I think it may be on a port forwarding tab on the router.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #4
      KXD75's Avatar
      KXD75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Thanks for your reply.

      I'm not sure, as a total newbie in the IP and router world
      But can follow instructions, if there are any on this?

      Cheers,

    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      If no-one else replies by the time I get home I'll try and give you some instructions.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Foscam have step by step setup guides here - Support

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      I think Toms link gives you everything you need!
      You need to set up dyndns so you can access your camera remotely (your public IP address can change, dyndns allows you to track any changes). You can then access your camera via a URL.
      Then you just need to set up port forwarding. This allows your router to pass requests for your urlort to your camera (private addressort)
      Post any issues here.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      KXD75's Avatar
      KXD75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Cheers guys,

      Followed the tutorial and everything works, except for being able to access out of my home network.

      Ports (UDP and TCP) show open when using PFPortChecker, but show closed when using an online port checker???

      Just dont know what I'm doing wrong

    10. #9
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      Quote Originally Posted by KXD75 View Post
      Cheers guys,

      Followed the tutorial and everything works, except for being able to access out of my home network.

      Ports (UDP and TCP) show open when using PFPortChecker, but show closed when using an online port checker???

      Just dont know what I'm doing wrong
      Any chance you could take a screen shot of your router and its port forwarding page? Blank out any public IP address info.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    11. #10
      KXD75's Avatar
      KXD75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with IP camera

      I think I have just done it, can't get access to another computer until tomorrow so wait and see...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION