Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Broadband very poor performance help needed.

    This is a discussion on Broadband very poor performance help needed. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just after some input guys really, and anything people can throw in to help me....im totally at my wits end. ...

    1. #1
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      Just after some input guys really, and anything people can throw in to help me....im totally at my wits end.

      We currently have Sky broadband, the unlimited package...which is no download limit and speeds of upto 20mbps.

      No i know its UPTO and i fully understand this and i know that it is dependant on your location to the exchange etc etc.

      BUT!

      we do not hit 2.00 download speeds! Avergae of around 1.61! Soooooo slow!

      Now, i have spoken to sky and got the usual garbage answer "check your micro filter, check your wires etc, location of router blah blah blah"

      Did all that no better.

      Rung em back and get a bit serious with them and managed to spak to a technical supervisor, he looked at my account and someone had restriced my speed to 10mbps! I was pretty knarcked to say the least..given we pay for the unlimited @ 20mbps.

      The guy said he checked my line and we should be able to hit 15 - 20mbps dependant on time etc.

      He corrected it, and we were then hitting speeds of 5 - 6 mbps, which to us, beleive me, was rapid...I was happy.

      1 week later speeds slumped again.

      Rung them again...same story...line speed restriced.

      Again it was changed and we were hitting 5 - 6 again.

      This time i was bit more 'angry' with them and was assured it couldnt happen again...we shall see, i thought.

      The guy also did a test on my line and told me it was only capable of around 7mbps!! I told him what i had been told before and he basically rubbished it!

      guess what....

      Now it has dropped again!

      Last night we barely were getting 1.20mbps!!!?

      Gonna ring them again and see what the score is!

      Anyone else had similar issues with sky BB?

      Anyone got any tips for me to help improve speed, is there anything i can do to check, improve anything?

      Does anyone work for sky?

      I'd love to leave but im now tied into a contract and the price is pretty good as we have sky TV and phone.

      Although its costng me a fortune to call their call centres...which oddly, is not free on sky talk!!?!?!

      sorry for the long ranting post!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      Calls to Sky are free on Sky Talk.

      We can't comment on anything with posting up your stats:

      How to get your router statistics

      And the troubleshooting on the phone is not pointless. If your speed is being capped, it's for a good reason. Answer the below:

      Any noise or issues on your landline telephone?
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets - if so, how is that connected to the socket?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      It is also helpful if you post your stats from the Test socket, using nothing but the cable supplied by Sky.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks guys.
      I'll post stats etc when I'm home.

      I assume that user05 works for sky.
      I assure you I have been charged for ringing sky! Clear as day on my bill.
      Not the point though.

      You say that my speed is being capped for a reason? What reason can possibly be valid if I am paying for 'up to' 20mb, told I can get 6mb, and receive lower than 2mb.
      It was uncapped and then recapped without me being notified.

      Hopefully my stats later on will help

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      I assume that user05 works for sky.
      I do.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      You say that my speed is being capped for a reason? What reason can possibly be valid if I am paying for 'up to' 20mb, told I can get 6mb, and receive lower than 2mb.
      Stability. Post up the answers to the questions and we'll take it from there.

    7. #6
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thought so user05, no offence meant at all, but sky tech / customer support is pretty infamous or being useless, I've never been 'satisfied' with their help.
      Anyways: answers

      And the troubleshooting on the phone is not pointless
      It hasn't solved my problem, so it for me was a waste of my time.

      Any noise or issues on your landline telephone?
      No
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      1 in the house only
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Yes
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Was an extension now into master, still no improvement.
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Yes, and tried a new one they sent, no improvement b
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets - if so, how is that connected to the socket?
      Nope

      Hope this helps a bit?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      I assure you I have been charged for ringing sky! Clear as day on my bill.
      If you have Sky Talk unlimited it should be free at any time. With Sky Talk Free, I think it is only during the free time that you get free help calls.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      They changed it a while back and Sky Talk Freetime is free to call Sky at any time.

      Quote Originally Posted by Valiceemo View Post
      It hasn't solved my problem, so it for me was a waste of my time.
      It may have not solved your problem yet, but running the router off an extension is/was something that needed to be addressed. You, since, moved the router back to the extension after the line was uncapped? The line was likely capped due to you running it off the extension; excessive error snapshots will lead to the line being capped for stability, so that your line will actually hold sync, albeit at a lower speed.

      Fire up your stats whenever you're able to.

    10. #9
      Valiceemo's Avatar
      Valiceemo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Holmfirth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      They changed it a while back and Sky Talk Freetime is free to call Sky at any time.
      I have been charged ad recently as last month. I only ever call during the 'free' period (after 19:00) as thats the only time I can due to working!


      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      It may have not solved your problem yet, but running the router off an extension is/was something that needed to be addressed. You, since, moved the router back to the extension after the line was uncapped? The line was likely capped due to you running it off the extension; excessive error snapshots will lead to the line being capped for stability, so that your line will actually hold sync, albeit at a lower speed.

      Fire up your stats whenever you're able to.
      The router is now plugged into master socket and has been since 1st 'uncapping' my line has been capped since moving it.
      It has never returned to the extension.

      I honestly have given up on ringing sky, just not worth it, hence why I have come here.

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband very poor performance help needed.

      Well, it sucks that you've had a bad experience with those on the phone, but some of us have the knowledge, experience and tools to sort you out first time.

      When you can, post up your statistics from the master socket and then, as Isitme stated, take a set of stats from the test socket (as per the link that he posted).

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION