Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

    This is a discussion on BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Cool thanks for clearing that up mate much appreciated...

    1. #11
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Cool thanks for clearing that up mate much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      We did say back then it was short sighted NOT to have the provision for ADSL filtering in the XNTE but that would only complicate matters!! Funnily enough it has the provision for two lines, how many homes have that now?! (commercial still has DP's for multiple lines in so XNTE's are not used there).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (20-07-11)

    5. #13
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      I personally hate the idea of the XNTE but i can see why BT install them for the purpose of not having to "go into the home" its just annoying when ISP's ask you to connect via the test socket and of course you dont have one and some of them dont seem to understand.

      I would love to be able to have infinity one day, its live in our exchange and there is a cab round the corner about half a mile but i was informed its not in our route . The guy told me to register interest on there site which i have done as he says its down to demand really what cabs are upgraded. Im tempted to go round our new estate and maybe post a note to everyone to register there interest in it as a brand new estate with a max of 1-3mb is just poor

    6. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      ...The guy told me to register interest on there site which i have done as he says its down to demand really what cabs are upgraded. Im tempted to go round our new estate and maybe post a note to everyone to register there interest in it as a brand new estate with a max of 1-3mb is just poor
      If there are any people who are interested, then it would certainly not be harmful to encourage everyone to register their interests on BT's site.

      It doesn't commit you to anything and in any case you could always sign up with another ISP to get a fibre based product.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #15
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Just thought id up a piccy of the NTE5 they installed for me



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      Im pretty sure its a filtered faceplate he said that the broadband would only work from this socket

    8. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Yes, that's a filtered faceplate. Hence the separate phone and modem points
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (22-07-11)

    10. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      That is correct, BT only supply the 3 way version which means the BB will only work from that socket (which is why they do the NTE2000 extension kit!). You can get a 6 way version made by the exact same people with BT Openreach branded instructions should you ever need to move the router and want a hard wired extension off the back.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (22-07-11)

    12. #18
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Cool thanks runitdirect & IWasNotTheEnemy for your input.

      Runitdirect- I must admit when i saw him punching the wires into the 3 idc terminals i could have sworn he only put 3 wires(white/blue, orange & blue/white) in i dont know where the other 3 wires coming directly from the external XNTE went? im guessing the 3 i saw him punch in were the extension wires daisy chained for the other 5 sockets. Is there another terminal on the filter somewhere that i didnt see him do? i saw there is a test socket now on the filter would the wires coming from the XNTE have been connected behind there?

      Thanks again sorry if i sound kinda confusing here

    13. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Yes, the wires for the line are one pair, these connect to A & B on the rear of the NTE5.(although the XNTE has the bell wire you do not need to connect this as you are fitting a second master) Only extension wiring connects to 2,3 & 5 on the rear of the ADSL faceplate.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to RUNITDIRECT For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (22-07-11)

    15. #20
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT fitted me a nice new NTE well happy

      Oh right cool thanks for clearing that up mate, i must of missed him connected wires to A+B on the faceplate, mind you if he was to have connected the wires from the XNTE and the Extension wires into the idc connecters 2,3 & 5 just like they were on my old bog standard socket that would then mean that socket is unfiltered right? and the broadband would work on any socket within my house?

      Thanks again

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION