Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Connectivity and router issues

    This is a discussion on Connectivity and router issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Im not seeing those lights come on. I've tried it with the dsl connection and Ethernet connection both present and ...

    1. #11
      Ocukgilly's Avatar
      Ocukgilly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      Im not seeing those lights come on. I've tried it with the dsl connection and Ethernet connection both present and removed. I've counted to 60. No change?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Ocukgilly View Post
      Ok I'll do that. I've just noticed that whilst the router is booting up I get access to the admin page. Once it is up and running I lose it again. Does that make sense?
      Not really. Sorry..

      Quote Originally Posted by Ocukgilly View Post
      Im not seeing those lights come on. I've tried it with the dsl connection and Ethernet connection both present and removed. I've counted to 60. No change?
      Are you sure you are making contact with the reset button? Can you hear it click?

      You should only have the power and wifi light on when your router is idle. Upon holding the reset button for a few second the 'tick' light should come on.

    4. #13
      Ocukgilly's Avatar
      Ocukgilly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      Yep, can hear it click and feel it shift back slightly. I'm not getting the tick lighting up.

    5. #14
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      It looks like your router has died.

    6. #15
      Ocukgilly's Avatar
      Ocukgilly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      Do I have to wait for sky? I have another router but I was told by the 1st line agent at sky that you must use their routers as they filter by mac.

    7. #16
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      It is against the T&C's but Sky are not prosecuting people for using it.

      You can use this link to generate your username and password. Your routers model is DG934G.

      Following settings required along with the username and password:

      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      Ocukgilly (20-07-11)

    9. #17
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Connectivity and router issues

      It's not the case that the router has been reset to a different IP address is it - ie the default 192.168.0.1?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION