Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    bad pings

    This is a discussion on bad pings within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Didn't notice that. It's fine if you are in NI....

    1. #11
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Didn't notice that. It's fine if you are in NI.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Quote Originally Posted by BuckleZ View Post
      ...Its due to the distance to London just and being routed through Scotland.
      Should we be looking at raising the height of that wall again?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Needhelp's Avatar
      Needhelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Ok so my speed after the 10 or so days is this:

      DownStream Connection Speed 4177 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 797 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 40

      My ping to the BBC website is 54.

      I am not happy with this ping cause I can't play on my favourite servers anymore.

      What can I do thanks.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Run a few tests on the speedtest.net site and see what the ping is like.

      I find that running several consecutive tests to the same server can help at times. It also helps to do them at different times of the day.

      You are looking for a pattern to see not just one result, but a collection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Try pinging your Gateway address, this will show whether the lag is down to your distance from London or some other reason. You will find this under the ADSL Port in your Router Status.

      Have you asked Sky to put you on a Gamer profile?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Needhelp's Avatar
      Needhelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      H:\Documents and Settings\>ping 90.209.247.62

      Pinging 90.209.247.62 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=63

      Ping statistics for 90.209.247.62:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 55ms, Maximum = 57ms, Average = 55ms

      So now what??

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Something is seriously wrong, you appear to bee pinging your own IP address. If so the result should be 0-1ms. Could be you are on SVBN and are pinging your main server. Are you on SVBN?

      Try pinging your router at 192.168.0.1.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Needhelp's Avatar
      Needhelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      1Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      H:\Documents and Settings\>ping 192.168.0.1

      Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

      Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

      H:\Documents and Settings\>

      That is me pinging the router the other was my gateway thing that the other guy said i should ping.

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      H:\Documents and Settings\Ben lee>ping 192.168.0.1

      Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

      Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

      H:\Documents and Settings\>ping 90.209.247.62

      Pinging 90.209.247.62 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=63
      Reply from 90.209.247.62: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=63

      Ping statistics for 90.209.247.62:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 49ms, Maximum = 49ms, Average = 49ms

      H:\Documents and Settings\>

      Gateway address.

      Also My last ISP (Utility warehouse) pinged the BBC at 25 MS had a faster download but much slower upload.

      MY question is: Why would my ping shoot up to more then double what is was when all they did was change me over to sky who use the same infrastructure (i think anyway)

    10. #19
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      Quote Originally Posted by BuckleZ View Post
      Not when you're across the water in Northern Ireland it ain't. It is fast path I believe, even my mate on 50mb Virgin gets 23-26ms. Its due to the distance to London just and being routed through Scotland.
      your first hop sucks for fastpath there's some mild interleaving going on there
      or impulse noise protection
      fastpath would give you something like this

      1 0.256 ms 0.242 ms 0.225 ms
      2 7.882 ms 7.475 ms 7.339 ms
      3 4.321 ms 4.605 ms 4.426 ms
      4 9.384 ms 9.327 ms 9.821 ms
      5 11.618 ms 11.238 ms 11.275 ms
      Last edited by Shonk; 01-08-11 at 03:10 AM.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: bad pings

      That is me pinging the router the other was my gateway thing that the other guy said i should ping.
      Its the same guy

      I can see you are on Sky's SVBN and don't have a 'local' gateway as such, your connection is routed directly to the Sky servers in Scotland.

      Have you asked Sky to put you on a gamer profile or reduce your delay?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION