Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Question about the Broadband speed estimate

    This is a discussion on Question about the Broadband speed estimate within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So I should be starting the DLM testing any time now but I was wondering how close to the estimated ...

    1. #1
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      So I should be starting the DLM testing any time now but I was wondering how close to the estimated speed I would get, I am told from the sky website that the max my line can handle is 6.5xx(bunch of numbers).. This is my local exchange, i dont know if this is of use I am 1.8km away from it.

      I'd really appreciate it if someone could inform me if I should get higher or lower than expected. thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      If you can post the router stats then people here can give you a decent estimate.

      Go here :- http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

    4. #3
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Connection Speed 4088 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.5 dB

      Edit: Isn't that Attenuation pretty high considering I'm only 1.8km away from the exchange? I know nothing about this stuff.
      Last edited by Bitten; 15-07-11 at 12:46 PM.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Could you post all the stats from that page please?

      It is useful to see both the upstream & downstream details together.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Isn't that Attenuation pretty high considering I'm only 1.8km away from the exchange?
      The distance you are from the exchange does not tell you much as the line length can be much more. It looks like your actual line length is a bit over 3 K.

      A bit more worrying is that your noise margin is very low for this stage. The fact that you are syncing a bit below normal suggests that you are not going to get much more. If you have one, plug into the Test socket and post your stats from there, using only the cable supplied by Sky..
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you don't have an NTE5 socket, unplug everything you have plugged into the phone line, including Sky digiboxes, plug a filter into the master socket and plug the router only into it. Take and post your stats.

      Do you have a monitored alarm?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Could you post all the stats from that page please?

      It is useful to see both the upstream & downstream details together.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4089 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 dB 24.1 dB
      Noise Margin 6.3 dB 12.6 dB

    8. #7
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The distance you are from the exchange does not tell you much as the line length can be much more. It looks like your actual line length is a bit over 3 K.

      A bit more worrying is that your noise margin is very low for this stage. The fact that you are syncing a bit below normal suggests that you are not going to get much more. If you have one, plug into the Test socket and post your stats from there, using only the cable supplied by Sky..
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you don't have an NTE5 socket, unplug everything you have plugged into the phone line, including Sky digiboxes, plug a filter into the master socket and plug the router only into it. Take and post your stats.

      Do you have a monitored alarm?
      Sorry I'm lost, I'm not all brains when it comes to this stuff. The one with the test socket is in another room, I can't get my computer in there. I don't know what you mean by a monitored alarm.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Something isn't right about those stats. The tool on this site gives an estimate that you line should be able to support between 9Mb-10Mb. The noise margin on your download is below the target of 7dB, whilst there is some room for improvement on the upstream connection.

      I've also noticed that there is a huge fluctuation in the noise margins between post #3 & #6. Whilst they can change such a huge change in this short period isn't so good.

      Tom (isitme) asked about a monitored alarm, which you didn't understand. Essentially he's asking about a burglar alarm or something else that could be hard wired to your telephone line.

      Another question I'm going to ask is whether or not you are in a flat or if your property is a new build?

      Also could you see if there is any noise on your telephone line please? To do this, using a corded telephone, dial '1' and listen carefully. The line should be totally silent (i.e. no hiss or crackling).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Something isn't right about those stats. The tool on this site gives an estimate that you line should be able to support between 9Mb-10Mb. The noise margin on your download is below the target of 7dB, whilst there is some room for improvement on the upstream connection.

      I've also noticed that there is a huge fluctuation in the noise margins between post #3 & #6. Whilst they can change such a huge change in this short period isn't so good.

      Tom (isitme) asked about a monitored alarm, which you didn't understand. Essentially he's asking about a burglar alarm or something else that could be hard wired to your telephone line.

      Another question I'm going to ask is whether or not you are in a flat or if your property is a new build?

      Also could you see if there is any noise on your telephone line please? To do this, using a corded telephone, dial '1' and listen carefully. The line should be totally silent (i.e. no hiss or crackling).
      I'm in a flat, it's a new build. The building is alarmed but not my flat specificly. When I dialed 1 there was an EXTREMELY quiet hiss, maybe that could be due to the fact I'm using a cordless phone(All I have)

      I'm a heavy downloader so I'm getting all stressed about this, I really hoped I could get good speeds in this flat, I'm still in the process of moving in.

      Edit: My noise margin has also changed alot, again.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4089 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 dB 24.1 dB
      Noise Margin 4.6 dB 12.7 dB
      Last edited by Bitten; 15-07-11 at 09:14 PM.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Bitten View Post
      I'm in a flat, it's a new build. The building is alarmed but not my flat specificly. When I dialed 1 there was an EXTREMELY quiet hiss, maybe that could be due to the fact I'm using a cordless phone(All I have)
      Being in a flat is probably why you have such a problem. If the line is entering the building downstairs and then coming up through the building, then there isn't a huge amount that can be done unfortunately.

      I did suggest to someone else on this forum that they may wish to investigate the possibility of replacing the line from downstairs to their flat with a Cat 6 cable. This isn't always possible, and certainly not easy.

      The quiet line test needs to be done with a corded phone as cordless phones can introduce noise or suppress it.

      Quote Originally Posted by Bitten View Post
      I'm a heavy downloader so I'm getting all stressed about this, I really hoped I could get good speeds in this flat, I'm still in the process of moving in.
      Don't let it get to you. I download a fair bit too. I have an old PC that just handles my torrents. It also seeds the ones I've downloaded.

      Alternatively you could rent a Seedbox.

      Quote Originally Posted by Bitten View Post
      Edit: My noise margin has also changed alot, again.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4089 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 dB 24.1 dB
      Noise Margin 4.6 dB 12.7 dB
      Hopefully someone else will correct me if I am wrong, but I can't see you getting a lot better with these fluctuations in your noise margin.

      You could contact Sky and get your upstream speed increased, but I can't see you getting a huge amount out of it I'm afraid.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION