Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Question about the Broadband speed estimate

    This is a discussion on Question about the Broadband speed estimate within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Scubbie Being in a flat is probably why you have such a problem. If the line is ...

    1. #11
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Being in a flat is probably why you have such a problem. If the line is entering the building downstairs and then coming up through the building, then there isn't a huge amount that can be done unfortunately.

      I did suggest to someone else on this forum that they may wish to investigate the possibility of replacing the line from downstairs to their flat with a Cat 6 cable. This isn't always possible, and certainly not easy.

      The quiet line test needs to be done with a corded phone as cordless phones can introduce noise or suppress it.



      Don't let it get to you. I download a fair bit too. I have an old PC that just handles my torrents. It also seeds the ones I've downloaded.

      Alternatively you could rent a Seedbox.



      Hopefully someone else will correct me if I am wrong, but I can't see you getting a lot better with these fluctuations in your noise margin.

      You could contact Sky and get your upstream speed increased, but I can't see you getting a huge amount out of it I'm afraid.
      I think I'm going to cry.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Update

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4235 kbps 788 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 dB 24.2 dB
      Noise Margin 7.1 dB 7.2 dB

      Does this change anything for the better, besides the fact my speed has increased slightly

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Still only half what you should be getting. Does seem the line into your flat is the cause of the issue
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      The one with the test socket is in another room, I can't get my computer in there.
      A big improvement in the Test socket looks to be your only hope of easy improvement. If you have a friend with a laptop ask them to help you by getting your stats from the Test socket. Depending on how much it improves, if any, we can advise on how to set yourself up permanently. Unfortunately, flats are notorious for poor phone wiring, your line may even be on a split pair which will badly influence your speed..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      A big improvement in the Test socket looks to be your only hope of easy improvement. If you have a friend with a laptop ask them to help you by getting your stats from the Test socket. Depending on how much it improves, if any, we can advise on how to set yourself up permanently. Unfortunately, flats are notorious for poor phone wiring, your line may even be on a split pair which will badly influence your speed..
      I'll borrow my sisters laptop later on today and report back.

    8. #17
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Alright so I tried it with my sisters laptop, I don't have exact figures but as I remember I was getting around 6300kbps downstream and 800 upstream, my noise margin was at 8.5 or so.

      Feeling slightly better, kind of. It's going to take alot of wire..

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Many in your position use Homeplugs, they will give you pretty near the full rate. If you have a power point near your master socket this would be your best option, unless you have a route you can run an ethernet cable of course, which is always the best option. This will give you an idea of what is available, but you must shop around for the best deal -
      Homeplug | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Bitten's Avatar
      Bitten is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Many in your position use Homeplugs, they will give you pretty near the full rate. If you have a power point near your master socket this would be your best option, unless you have a route you can run an ethernet cable of course, which is always the best option. This will give you an idea of what is available, but you must shop around for the best deal -
      Homeplug | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk
      Pretty sure I can manage to run a wire through the flat, one question though. Will DLM still run as normal and will it increase further than than the 6300kbps it was when I tried?

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Question about the Broadband speed estimate

      As your internal wiring is causing interference DLM will see this as faults on your line and reduce the speed accordingly. Don't worry about that, when you get your wiring sorted out you can have the line manually configured.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION