Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Decreased Speed

    This is a discussion on Decreased Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am using the unlimited package, my speed used to be 3Megs and I could download at 300kb/s but now ...

    1. #1
      rp1's Avatar
      rp1
      rp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Decreased Speed

      I am using the unlimited package, my speed used to be 3Megs and I could download at 300kb/s but now within a day, it went from 3Mpbs>2Mpbs>500kb/s, I then restarted my modem and it went back to 2Mpbs, but i'm downloading at below 200kb/s, how do I get it back to what it was?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2042 kbps 604 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 16 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Any noise or issues on your landline telephone?
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets - if so, how is that connected to the socket?

    4. #3
      rp1's Avatar
      rp1
      rp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Any noise or issues on your landline telephone?
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets - if so, how is that connected to the socket?
      When the landline telephone rings, the internet connection gets lagged untill it get's picked up.
      I use 2 telephone sockets.
      There are microfilters connected directly into each phone socket.
      The router is connected to the microfilter which is connected to the phone socket.
      I'm using the cable that sky provided.
      The sky tv isn't conncted to any telephone sockets, at least I don't think so.

      Also, my computer & internet (modem) is upstairs, and the main telephone socket is downstairs, and so there is a telephone socket upstairs and one downstairs, I have tried to connect the modem downstairs to the main telephone socket, and then have used a wireless USB adapter to connect it to the computer upstairs, but the connection is bad, so :/.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Running the router off the extension probably isn't helping things, so move it to the master socket and re-post the stats that you get from there.

    6. #5
      rp1's Avatar
      rp1
      rp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Running the router off the extension probably isn't helping things, so move it to the master socket and re-post the stats that you get from there.
      I have done what you have asked, I have got the exact same stats, nothing changed. :/

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Post them anyway, there could be something you're not seeing (e.g. increase of the noise margin)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Do you have a Test socket? If so plug in there using only the cable supplied by Sky and post your stats.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you only got 3 Mb before, there has always been something wrong with your connection, you should have had 7-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      rp1's Avatar
      rp1
      rp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Post them anyway, there could be something you're not seeing (e.g. increase of the noise margin)
      They were exactly the same, I checked each stat.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have a Test socket? If so plug in there using only the cable supplied by Sky and post your stats.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      If you only got 3 Mb before, there has always been something wrong with your connection, you should have had 7-8Mb.
      I have a test socket, however, it is jammed close, nothing can open it :/ Also, before(6+months ago) I had a below 1MB/s connection, and I ran up Sky to ask why this was, they then bumped it up to 3MB/s, I asked why it couldn't go higher, they said that my line can only handle 3MB/s

    10. #9
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      You should move the modem to the master
      and ensure that the extension going to upstairs is plugged into the filter
      downstairs and not hard wired

      If you are unwilling to do that
      you will have to suck up slow speeds
      its your choice

    11. #10
      rp1's Avatar
      rp1
      rp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Decreased Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      You should move the modem to the master
      and ensure that the extension going to upstairs is plugged into the filter
      downstairs and not hard wired

      If you are unwilling to do that
      you will have to suck up slow speeds
      its your choice
      I did move the modem to the master, I got the same speeds, I'll move the modem back to the master now and leave it there, what do you mean by the second part of what you said?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION