Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

    This is a discussion on Throughput Issue. Faulty Router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey. I've been having throughput problems the last few days. The connection will sync at around 3.5 - 3.7 Mbps ...

    1. #1
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

      Hey. I've been having throughput problems the last few days.

      The connection will sync at around 3.5 - 3.7 Mbps but over a period of a day or so i'll find that the connection speed has dropped to 1 - 2 Mbps.

      A router restart seems to fix the problem. I've checked to make sure that no one else is downloading anything when I am testing the speed. Also the Anytime + isn't downloading too so I know it's not that.

      Is this likely to be a router fault or something else?

      Heres my current stats if that helps:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15596 19745 0 5783 26559 00:14:23
      LAN 100M/Full 940 1 0 77 0 00:15:57
      WLAN 11M/54M 22180 17576 0 25887 5701 00:15:45

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3749 kbps 714 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 9 db

      Everything is ok at the moment since I have just restarted the router. When the throughput drops, the stats seem to stay the same.

      Many thanks in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

      You using WiFi or Ethernet?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

      Both. Mostly wi-fi though.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

      You will have to establish whether the internet is dropping or the wireless. If the light is staying green then it is most likely the wireless. Try changing the channel you are using on the router. You can do it by trial and error but the best way is to download Inssider from the link below and use it to discover the channels in use in your area. Select a channel as far from those in use as possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      RamboRab's Avatar
      RamboRab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Central (Glasgow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throughput Issue. Faulty Router?

      It's not dropping out, it's just the throughput that drops. It's been fine since I restarted the router the other day but I've just been watching some youtube videos and now it's slower again. Did a speed test and it's now at 2-2.5 Mbps.

      It seems to be if you put it under any load (eg streaming videos) it drops the throughput.

      Again I'm not sure if this is the router or the connection.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION