Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

    This is a discussion on My Internet Speed Is Terrible! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ever since I moved house my internet has been terrible. I had BT to start with then moved over the ...

    1. #1
      worifeem's Avatar
      worifeem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Ever since I moved house my internet has been terrible. I had BT to start with then moved over the sky. When I first got sky my internet download speed was around 40 - 80kbs. It then got to around 110kbs in november and it is at 2 - 12kbs. I think it is my master socket because the faceplate has been off since we moved house. We have been told by BT and sky that we have to use the tester. I've tried without the tester and nothing changed. Is the speed problem the master socket or something else?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Need to see the router stats..

      How to get your router statistics

      I think you've put under Exchange in your profile what looks like your phone number. Remove it to be on the safe side.

    4. #3
      worifeem's Avatar
      worifeem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Need to see the router stats..

      How to get your router statistics

      I think you've put under Exchange in your profile what looks like your phone number. Remove it to be on the safe side.
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 109165 99448 0 6713 9689 00:31:16
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 100787 110755 0 9681 7019 00:31:07

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 138 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 70.0db 44.2db
      Noise Margin 7.4db 14.4db

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      A very long line to start of with. You are on ADSL2+ right now. G.DMT is much more suitable for a line as long as yours. You will have to call Sky to ask them to put you on G.DMT but before you do that let's see if we can improve your current stats.

      The stats you posted are from your test socket.. Right?
      And you've got nothing but a mico-filter connected?



      Have you got any noise (cracking etc) on the line?
      Have you got any Sky boxes connected to your phone line?
      Have you got any junction boxes before your master socket? (If the main bt wire is not concealed you should be able to follow it around from your master socket and look for any joints or junction boxes inside and immediately outside your property)

    6. #5
      worifeem's Avatar
      worifeem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      G.DMT is much more suitable for a line as long as yours. You will have to call Sky to ask them to put you on G.DMT
      Would sky have to come to my house and do something from the master socket or just change it from where they are? Also does this cost anything?
      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      The stats you posted are from your test socket.. Right?
      And you've got nothing but a mico-filter connected?
      Yes

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Have you got any noise (cracking etc) on the line?
      Have you got any Sky boxes connected to your phone line?
      Have you got any junction boxes before your master socket? (If the main bt wire is not concealed you should be able to follow it around from your master socket and look for any joints or junction boxes inside and immediately outside your property)
      No noise on the line.
      No sky boxes (if u mean sky tv)
      I have been told by sky that the master socket is the only thing that works in the house.

    7. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by worifeem View Post
      Would sky have to come to my house and do something from the master socket or just change it from where they are? Also does this cost anything?
      It is just clicking a few buttons on their system. It's free.
      It won't make a big difference at the moment because there is something else holding you down.

      Quote Originally Posted by worifeem View Post
      I have been told by sky that the master socket is the only thing that works in the house.
      For a minute forget about everything Sky has been telling you.

      If you have any other phone sockets in the house apart from your master socket, go check them out and see if you can still get a dial tone in them. Report back your findings.

      Also like I said in my previous post. Have a look around and see if you can find any junction boxes in the house. They look like this.


    8. #7
      worifeem's Avatar
      worifeem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      If you have any other phone sockets in the house apart from your master socket, go check them out and see if you can still get a dial tone in them. Report back your findings.
      I found 2 in my house. One in the same room as master socket and one in my living room. There is no dial tone on both of these.

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Also like I said in my previous post. Have a look around and see if you can find any junction boxes in the house. They look like this.
      I was unable to find any of these. Is that an issue?

    9. #8
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by worifeem View Post
      I was unable to find any of these. Is that an issue?
      It's better if you don't have them. Replace your micro-filter and dsl cable with a fresh one and then ring Sky to have your line switched to G.DMT.

    10. #9
      worifeem's Avatar
      worifeem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      It's better if you don't have them. Replace your micro-filter and dsl cable with a fresh one and then ring Sky to have your line switched to G.DMT.
      Ok, thank you very much for your time and help. Is the dsl cable the grey one that goes from the router to micro filter?

    11. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed Is Terrible!

      Yes it's the grey one.

      If you have a spare router lying around you could try plugging that in too to rule out a faulty router.

      Also, can you also post your traceroute to bbc.co.uk. (Go to CMD -> type 'tracert bbc.co.uk')

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION