Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    drop in line speed

    This is a discussion on drop in line speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys not been on here for a while had no problems for months i have had a stead 7meg ...

    1. #1
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      drop in line speed

      hi guys not been on here for a while had no problems for months

      i have had a stead 7meg line for months last two days it has dropped down to
      4.3meg

      current router stats

      System Up Time: 12:01:00

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 253053 139278 0 0 0 11:59:58
      LAN 139041 252022 0 0 0 12:01:00
      WLAN 7254 4865 0 0 0 12:00:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5042 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 29.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 11.0 db

      my stats in master socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4909 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 29.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 11.5 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)


      any help would be great thanks
      Last edited by andy585; 07-07-11 at 01:05 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      Looks like your line has a problem. Any noise on the voice line? Do a quiet line check by dialling one digit and listening, or do the full check by dialing 17070, option2, and listen.

      Alternately, have you recently been moved on to the Sky network? This sometimes results in a speed change.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      I have been with sky for 2-3 years with their max bb

      I will try a line test and post back

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      I have been with sky for 2-3 years with their max bb
      Do you have Sky Phone rental? If so you may have been moved to the Sky Voice and Broadband Network, which is different from being on BT line rental. You should have been advised of the change, if you have been moved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      no i am still with bt for line rental

      i turned off router for an hour and tryed another speedtest and got some improvment

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7331 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5 db 29.4 db
      Noise Margin 6.2 db 11.0 db



      can i do a line test with a cordless phone does that make any difference ?

      waiting on batteries to charge before i use it lol

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      Getting over 7Mb and a throughput of 6.36Mb/s with an attenuation of 50.5 db is rather good. I think your router probably just needed a 'wake up call'.

      You can use a cordless phone to do the test but it is not always accurate. Modern cordless phones can have noise cancelling features which mask line noise or on the other hand they can create their own noise, which is why you should always use a corded one.

      As your speed is back to normal, there is not much point in doing the test.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      ok thank you for your help

    9. #8
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      My speed has dropped again and I also sent sky and email asking for my gaming ping to be lowered here is the email I got back

      Dear Miss Burley
      *

      Thank you for contacting Sky Help Centre.
      I have gone into your account to change your Max delay to 8 as requested but this is what it is sitting at, I have noticed a lot off errors on your line which could be causing problems. Here are the errors and the time it has taken to get them

      Total Errors: 7242
      Over The Period: 8 hours 18 minutes
      CRC Snapshot: 220992

      The CRC errors indicate that your router is plugged into an extension socket rather than the master socket. If you address this problem it should then speed up your line.

      I hope this helps with your enquiry.
      *

      Kind regards
      Sheena
      Sky Help Centre
      Sky.com - your home for the latest news, sport and entertainment
      *



      Original Message Follows: ------------------------
      Enquiry Type:
      Slow connection with Sky Broadband
      Description:
      hi could you please lower my max delay levels to 8 to improve ping times for gaming. thank you
      *

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: drop in line speed

      Being answered here-
      help needed again

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION