Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    NAS Drive Stopping at Router

    This is a discussion on NAS Drive Stopping at Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have you opened the ports required to access the NAS?...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Have you opened the ports required to access the NAS?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Kozinski's Avatar
      Kozinski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Yep ports are opened also had it set to DMZ.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      If you have registered a DDNS address, given the device a fixed IP and put this in the DMZ, then something else is stopping the connection. All I can suggest is that you return the NAS to factory default settings and run through the procedure again.

      I don't know if you are aware but the DMZ bypasses the firewall in the router so anybody who can guess your password can enter the NAS. Apart from for testing, using the DMZ is not recommended for a storage device.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      stupid question I know but I have a shiney new NAS (D-Link share center).

      It has a fixed IP address on my network.

      We are about to go on holiday and my wife now says she would like to take her laptop and access the NAS while we are away.

      If I get a DynDNS account and forward the ports on the router, how do I get to the NAS? As I thought by putting the IP address into the web browser would bring up the router or am i being really dense.

      I haven't done anything like this before and now my wife springs this on me while I am trying to sort a ton of other things.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Basically when you set up the Service for the NAS, the firewall will only allow access to the NAS address. You would have to check, but I think you have to open port 21 for the Dlink NAS.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Thanks for that explanation.

      Yeah the Dlink uses port 21 for the FTP server and 80 for the HTTP server.

      I also need to setup the forwarding for the slingbox as well.

      BT will wish that they didn't go over to unlimited use when we go away as my wife is planning to use the laptop as a mobile TV and we get free wi-fi at the hotel we're at.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      One advantage you have over the OP is that the Dlink is well documented, the LG's manual is dire.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Kozinski's Avatar
      Kozinski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Tell me about it! Not too keen or resetting as I've spent hours already - but maybe my only choice!

    10. #19
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Anyways I have found what may be the problem with the OP the symptoms he describes is a "loopback" error.

      It is discussed here

      DynDNS.com - Support -- Knowledge Base -- Loopback Connections

      looking at it the router may not support what the OP is trying to do but they do have a nice FAQ and troubleshooting guide.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #20
      Kozinski's Avatar
      Kozinski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NAS Drive Stopping at Router

      Thats a great soloution to the internal problem, but I'm sadly at a loss with the external problem.

      When trying to access it outwith my network - I get error page

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION