Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

    This is a discussion on Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are there a set of 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can manually use to set a line speed - are ...

    1. #1
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

      Are there a set of 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can manually use to set a line speed - are they listed anywhere?

      Are they different for G.DMT and ADSL2+?


      80% of the week my line runs happily without any problems at:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 863 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.5db 34.6db
      Noise Margin 7.1db 8.2db

      But then every few days it drives me to utter distraction by connecting/dropping repeatedly - typically after a few hours is stabilises with stats in these regions:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4606 kbps 577 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.5db 34.6db
      Noise Margin 7.3db 7.4db

      BT basically say it must be RFI and can't help unless the problem occurs when they're on-site. I've tried with a AM radio in the car to scan a wide area and Walkman for localised area but can't detect any difference in 'noise' when the problem is occurring or not. I've even tried with all the power off in the house (using a USB modem and laptop).

      So as a last resort I'm planning to ask Sky to manually set my line to G.DMT and configure the upstream speed with a large noise margin and see if that helps.

      Previous thread:
      Intermittent disconnections


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ssscrudddy's Avatar
      Ssscrudddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

      I don't know enought to give you a proper answer, but they certainly can set your speed manually. My download speed is manually set to 10240 kbps, my line will only give me 9989 kbps max & it is currently running at 9787 kbps
      Is the pub open yet?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

      Are there a set of 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can manually use to set a line speed - are they listed anywhere?
      Yes, but Sky regard them as 'confidential information' You appear to be set to 4608/864

      Have you fitted a filtered faceplate? If you have not, it would be a good investment. Apart from the other benefits, they have a much better filter than the ones that Sky supply.

      If you do think you have RF interference then fitting an RF3 filter would probably help. - Installing a BT 80B RF3 : How to Guides

      A move to G.DMT may benefit you, but that is not guaranteed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Yes, but Sky regard them as 'confidential information' You appear to be set to 4608/864
      Ok, so in theory would it be possible for them to set a profile such as:

      4608/512

      Giving me a larger up stream noise margin while maintaining the current down stream speed. I have a filtered face place, but will give the RF filter a go too.

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Are there 'profile speeds' the Sky Agent can set manually?

      You don't want a larger noise margin, you want it as close to 7dB as possible to give the best speed. It also depends whether you're on the SVBN or the old DSLAMs. If the latter, CST can set your downstream and upstream independent of each other to any speed the agent/user wants. If you're on the SVBN then only set profiles can be applied so it's a lot more restrictive
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION