Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Gigabit Router

    This is a discussion on Gigabit Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The Sagem router that came with my Sky is fast ethernet only. This means I either need to get a ...

    1. #1
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Gigabit Router

      The Sagem router that came with my Sky is fast ethernet only. This means I either need to get a gigabit router that will work with Sky, or a gigabit switch and plug that in to it.

      Does anyone have an opinion which option would lead to the least hassle?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      A Gigabit switch would be the least problematic since it just needs one cable to the router and any others can connect to your devices.

      Many top end routers with full support 1Gbit LAN also have good WiFi n abilities and can do other things too.

      There are a few threads on this forum discussing various top-end routers. They include Draytek, Billion, Belkin & Netgear.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      I've been looking around as well. I'm moving from having Virgin and cable with them - I've had it since Telewest launched it... but I've never had DSL, it's that part I'm unsure of.

      There's still no electricity in my flat and won't be till next week (Sky are testing the line too) so I don't know what speed I'm going to get.

      I don't know how good the router I have is. The Netgear that's suitable is their expensive one - DGND3700. Billion don't seem to make a DSL and gigabit and wireless N router, I couldn't find one with gigabit. Belkin don't make one with a DSL modem built in and gigabit.

      For Draytek it would seem to be the Vigor2830n plus

      Edit : I should say what I am asking...

      Will I get better performance with the Sagem modem/router and an unmanaged switch, or am I better skipping the switch and grabbing a new gigabit router/modem?

      I don't really mind the cost as it's a one off.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      Billion don't seem to make a DSL and gigabit and wireless N router, I couldn't find one with gigabit.
      [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/Billion-BiPAC-7800N-Broadband-Wireless-N/dp/B002TOKGL8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1309560214&sr=8-1]Billion BiPAC 7800N[/ame]

      Billion BiPAC 7402NX


      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      Will I get better performance with the Sagem modem/router and an unmanaged switch, or am I better skipping the switch and grabbing a new gigabit router/modem?
      The switch will add a response delay of 1-2ms. Apart from that it would be the same unless you go for a billion\draytek router that is matched to the equipment in your exchange. This is explained here.

    7. #6
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      Ah, thanks for finding those other routers. The Belkin one on their site doesn't say it's gigabit, I assumed if it was they'd shout about it! :P

      The other ones I just didn't see.

      In any case that's now the second time I've been given that "which will give you the best speed" link - but it's the first time it's registered with me what it means!

      What this means is that I should now list all the routers I've looked at into two columns, and then when I find out what equipment Sky uses in my area with a tracert then I can see which list of routers is suitable.

      Then I get to choose between a switch and a new router.

      I think that I'm set to go. Thanks folks!

    8. #7
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      I think it depends what you need it for really.

      For example, if you've 2 desktop PCs hardwired & a laptop wirelessly connected and you do a lot of PC to PC transfers whilst the laptop is browsing then the laptop's internet performance could potentially be crippled with just a gigabit router but with the PCs linked via a gigabit switch then the laptop could be free to browse.

      Also suppose you switch to another ISP who uses different exchange equipment the switch route could be the most cost effective.

    9. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      The switch wont add any delay
      I can go through 4 switches and get a ping reply in

      64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: seq=56 ttl=64 time=0.181 ms

      if i go through 1 it will be the same

      And then going through to a 5th switch thats only 10/100 to reach the net latency jumps slightly due to 10/100 sitching speed

      1 (192.168.0.1) 0.287 ms 0.279 ms 0.291 ms

      but that would also be the same if you where directly connected to it

      Basicly lan latency is halfed on gigabit compared to 10/100
      no matter how many gigabit switches you have
      unless there's a fault


      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      The switch will add a response delay of 1-2ms. Apart from that it would be the same unless you go for a billion\draytek router that is matched to the equipment in your exchange. This is explained here.

    10. #9
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      You must have some kick butt switches then. I have two switches and both of them add to my ping. Usually it's 1ms but sometimes it's 2ms.

    11. #10
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Gigabit Router

      I can live with 1 or 2 ms.

      What seems to be going to give me a latency hit is the Sagem router itself has only got fast ethernet which seems to indicate from Shonk's post that my ping times won't be so good.

      I barely ever game online these days so I'm not too worried.

      I just want to make sure my complicated network still works fast when I move into the flat. There's a server in .nl which is fuse mounted on a Debian server which rsyncs the data across daily and serves out both the local and the remote data to the network with Samba and Mediatomb, which will consist of the main PC, smartphone, smartTV, bluray and WD TV Live.

      2ms lag isn't going to kill me!

      I'm thinking the simplest way is to stick with the Sagem router unless I find there's several megabits in it, and just grab gigabit switches.

      Is it worth spending money on the switches, or should I just get cheap ones?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION