Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Line Testing

    This is a discussion on Line Testing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had my broadband activated since the 13th of June, however the router didn't arrive until today. I've connected it, ...

    1. #1
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Testing

      I've had my broadband activated since the 13th of June, however the router didn't arrive until today.

      I've connected it, and it works - confirmed with my smartphone. But I've not moved in yet so I haven't tested the speeds.

      I understand that Sky will do some kind of line testing, which will determine what speed my broadband can run at, and initially my speeds will be reduced while this happens.

      I can't seem to find more information on it (I may have missed something obvious) and I have some questions.

      Do I need to do anything to cause it to start?
      I have an electrician working in the flat this week, which means the electricity will be turned off at various points, will this affect things.
      Have I missed it because I didn't receive my equipment for so long after activation?
      At what point will I know how fast Sky broadband will go?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      Do I need to do anything to cause it to start?
      No it's automatic. Usually takes three days to start.

      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      I have an electrician working in the flat this week, which means the electricity will be turned off at various points, will this affect things.
      Yes! The line management system will see this as a line fault.

      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      Have I missed it because I didn't receive my equipment for so long after activation?
      Nope. But you won't have to wait three days. It will be active now.

      Quote Originally Posted by Quartermass View Post
      At what point will I know how fast Sky broadband will go?
      Check your My Sky account to see when line testing will end. Afterwards post your stats and we'll see if there's anything that can be done to improve things for you.

    4. #3
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Well, the electrician turning off the power to the flat is not optional... so the line testing will have to work around that.

      This is what my Sky account says

      Your Connection Details

      Check back here for updates.

      Line testing is not currently in progress.

      We continually look at ways to improve the quality of your broadband connection.
      Bear in mind it's only been connected for 2 hours.

      If the line testing doesn't go well because of the electrity supply being disconnected, is there a way for me to restart it?

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      It can be restarted and your line can be manually configured too. So no worries.
      Post your router stats. You might have synced at more than 4MB already.

      How to get your router statistics

    6. #5
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Ah, I can't get them at the moment, they're in a flat I've not yet moved into.

      I'll take a laptop round a night this week and run a speed test - and also grab that information.

      I'm hoping for good speeds based on this.

      According to BT Wholesale, your phone line should be able to support

      up to 2Mbps via ADSL
      7Mbps or greater ADSL connection via ADSL Max
      15.5Mbps or greater via ADSL2+

    7. #6
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Well, the electrics were switched back on on Monday. Line testing has finished today and this is what I'm seeing

      "Download Speed

      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      16.6Mb (17024Kb)
      Upload Speed

      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      1.0Mb (1024Kb) "

      I'm pleased with that result, but wondering if it might be a bit higher if the line testing had continued uninterrupted.

      I won't be moving into the flat for around 3-4 weeks, so there's time for it to run again without interruption.

      Is there a way I can restart it?

      Edit : I should say that I had forgotten the electrics were going to be turned off... they were turned off from about 1 day after I connected the router until Monday.

    8. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Only your full router stats will reveal how good a job DLM did and if it's worth asking Sky to run it again.

      Post the stats when you can.

      How to get your router statistics

    9. #8
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Yep - It'll be a while as I've not moved in yet. I'll post the stats when I manage to get a laptop there.

      If I need to ask Sky to re-run it then I'll wait until I can see the stats before I do that.

    10. #9
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Got em!

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 101:48:07
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 33048 38270 0 2673772 25510717 101:46:22
      LAN Up 13271 8799 0 17855044 818429 101:48:07
      WLAN Up 7725 4287 0 2147071 524782 101:47:48
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17020 kbps 1146 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.5 dB 10.9 dB
      Noise Margin 7.5 dB 9.0 dB
      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)

      Click for a little easier to read


    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      That looks quite good. DLM does not appear to be running on your line, so it is safe to reboot your router, you will probably get an increase in speed. If you do this in the morning when the line is quiet, you may even get a bit more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION