Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Line Testing

    This is a discussion on Line Testing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'll give the router a reboot next time I'm there in a morning. What is DLM ? My best guess ...

    1. #11
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      I'll give the router a reboot next time I'm there in a morning.

      What is DLM? My best guess would be dynamic line management which would mean the speed would change... ?

      What determines Sky setting it at 17000kbps, and when would that be changed? Do you think it is worth it to get them to do the whole line testing again since the electricity will be on this time?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      I don't think getting it run again will make any difference. Your line has probably been set to about 18,000 or 20000 down and 1300 up. If you speed does not go up with rebooting, it means your line will not carry any more.
      You are correct about what DLM is, rebooting several times in a short period will cause the speed to be reduced. An occasional reboot will make no difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Quartermass's Avatar
      Quartermass is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      Thanks! In that case when you say reboot, will a power cycle be enough, or should I be logging into the web UI to make it reboot?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Line Testing

      A power cycle is always better in my opinion as is definitely means you have disconnected and reconnected with the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION