Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Downstream dropped after changing router

    This is a discussion on Downstream dropped after changing router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I changed to a non sky router and now my downstream has changed from 8128 to 6432 kbps. How ...

    1. #1
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Downstream dropped after changing router

      Hello,
      I changed to a non sky router and now my downstream has changed from 8128 to 6432 kbps. How is this even possible? Is there anything I can do besides change back to the crappy router sky gave me? If it helps, I now have a TP-Link TD-W8960N.

      I was considering running this as a secondary router my sky one. That way I get a wireless network that doesn't drop out randomly and somehow more downstream. But of course I'd rather work out why this is happening.

      Thanks,
      Cosmo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      Post your full router stats from both the routers. Also what sky router are you using?

      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      You did say you were leaving for Virgin and your Profile says you are with them, have you changed your mind and decided to stay with Sky Connect? Had enough, and am FINALLY leaving.

      Is the TPlink set up to use G.DMT or MultiMode?

      Your stats will show if something is not right, but it is possible your TPLink is not compatible with BTADSL Max.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      Ha. I thought someone would bring that up. I did change to Virgin but they had set up issues which they didn't seem to want to share in detail. I left it as it was and am still somehow connected with Sky. Perhaps just a coincidence, but since trying to leave Sky, my troubles with meaningless throttling has completely stopped.

      Anyway, onto router stats

      Sky Router (black Netgear):

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 7 db 2 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 26 db

      TP-Link Router:

      Downstream Upstream
      Line Coding(Trellis): On On
      SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 58 260
      Attenuation (0.1 dB): 80 30
      Output Power (0.1 dBm):98 121
      Attainable Rate (Kbps): 7040 1248

      Path 0
      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 6496 448

      Is the downstream on the sky router actually the "Attainable Rate" because then they would match up? Also I did think the attenuation was the problem but its just the scale, they match up within 1dB of each other assuming that's the scale that Sky's router uses.

      By the looks of things it isn't a problem with just the router (unless the new router has caused the exchange to lower my speed for stability?).

      What could cause me to lose 1mb in downstream?? In actual speed testing, I'm scoring 5mb (on both routers); around 2mb less than usual

      Also @isitme, it says it is in mode ADSL_G.dmt... not too sure what this means.. is it good?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      That is a bit puzzling, you should easily get the maximum of 8128kbps with a good noise margin. You are a long way short of either. I think you may have to go back to basics and plug into your Test socket and take the stats from there.

      You are set to the correct mode.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      Some what disappointing that I'm on the right mode, I thought you may have been onto something there .

      Unfortunately I don't have a test socket, but I've always been able to reach 8128 on the sky router page and up to 7.6mbps on a speedtest using the socket as normal.

      I thought the downstream was updated every 3 days by the exchange, but the TP-Link router changes every time it is rebooted so what I'm getting right now is up to date. I can't work it out I guess I could just ignore it for a week and see if it sorts itself out..

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      You haven't plugged something else in without using a filter have you? There is also a chance that the filter is failing, so if you have a spare, unplug everything from the phone line including in other sockets you may have, and try it.

      With BT your line should sync up to its maximum when you plug in. The line Profile may take some time to get up to speed, but the actual sync should be full speed. From your low noise margin, it seems you are getting all your line can handle.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Cosmo's Avatar
      Cosmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect :(
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      The micro-filter was actually something I changed. I changed it to the TP-Link one because it looked better. I didn't think it would function at all differently. None the less I switched it back. If this is the problem I'm going to smash the new filter with a hammer.

    10. #9
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,109
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      Off topic, but it's a real shame you can't get any LLU ISP's with that lovely low attenuation figure you have.
      Current Sync 79999/19999

    11. #10
      SkyCST's Avatar
      SkyCST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02087
      Broadband ISP: Other
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Downstream dropped after changing router

      The sky router will show the actual downstream connection rate.
      Not max attainable.

      And if one router is showing a higher speed than another, its fairly obvious what is happening.

      Its clear the sky router here is out performing the non sky one. (Unusual i know)

      But if you plug in sky and get 8mbps but only 6mbps from the other then its either the cables your using (if differnt) or its that router.

      Cant believe no one else has stated this...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION