Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    A few questions.

    This is a discussion on A few questions. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hope it is ok to ask a few questions here. 1. Since Sky's move to 20meg, have there been any ...

    1. #1
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      A few questions.

      Hope it is ok to ask a few questions here.

      1. Since Sky's move to 20meg, have there been any reports of Sky holding/limiting some people to 16 meg, when they are able to achieve more than this?

      2. What might be any expected overhead percentage under MER?

      3. Is it correct to say that in order to achieve highest speeds, then the sync speed needs to be set higher than the actual highest possible throughput to allow for losses/overheads?

      4. Is loss of connection around 03:00 an indication of DLM?


      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: A few questions.

      1. No
      2. 10-15%. In this case changing the encapsulation makes a very little difference. You may find the overheads to be the same as PPPOA.
      3. True. Your sync speed is always more then you throughput.
      4. Yes. DLM implements changes around that time.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      Giskard (23-06-11)

    5. #3
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A few questions.

      Thanks for the quick response Exdee.

      So, the connection speed shown under F@ST 2304 - am I right in thinking that actually refers to sync?

    6. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: A few questions.

      Yes that is your sync speed.

    7. #5
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A few questions.

      Just wanted to be completely sure before saying anything further.

      Initially was told that I could get 18-19 meg, but would be set at 16 meg for a week or so and then to call them back and they would set at 20 meg.

      After 12 days I called them back to be told that "16 meg is very good". I agreed, but reminded him of the advice given to me previously. I was again told that 16 meg is a very good speed.

      After being a bit of a pest, he told me that my connection would support a max of 19 meg and they would set to 18 meg. I asked why not a sync of 20, and was told it was for reliability. He added that a high sync may also cause problems with the phone.

      I said that, because of overheads, reliability should not really be a problem as I would realistically be short of my achievable limits and also, that if set at 18 I would not see 18 - again, because of overheads.

      My comments about any particular actual speed having a correspondingly higher sync connection seemed totally meaningless and irrelevant to him - that's why I wanted confirmation for my assumptions.

      Oh, with O2 my sync was 20,147 down and 1,321 up.


      Thanks again.

      Edit:

      Should have added that, apart from briefly seeing a little over 17 meg, I am still at 16meg down but up has dropped to 945kbps.
      Last edited by Giskard; 23-06-11 at 09:45 PM. Reason: added details.

    8. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: A few questions.

      Every advisor at Sky has his/her own theory regarding what should be best for you. Whilst what he is saying in not completely false it is unlikely to be your case since you have a short line.

      Post up your router stats in the following format and we'll take it from there.

      System Up Time: 228:02:22
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 19368024 30994380 0 2616 1870 228:01:21
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 31550984 20007413 0 4917 4917 121:17:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18219 kbps 966 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.5db 10.9db
      Noise Margin 6.9db 8.0db

      How to get your router statistics

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: A few questions.

      Maybe if you post your router stats we will give you an idea of what you should have. O2 2 use a lower defaut noise margin that Sky which can account for a bit of the difference. Were you actually syncing at 20147, or was that the maximum attainable rate?
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A few questions.

      Hi. Sorry for the delay.

      Those O2 figures related to exchange/router bandwidth. My achievable was circa 16 mbps, as I opted for that rather than the slightly dearer 20 meg package. Quite often I would see 17 mbps from a good server. Funny thing though (coincidence?), was that after I told O2 I was thinking of leaving, my speeds crept up and I would see 18 - 19 meg from those servers.

      -----------------------------------

      It would seem that after speaking with Sky on the 19th (to ask for the higher sync), that I must have been placed on DLM, as my stats for the last couple of days shows link re-established at about 03:00. Anyway, here are my current stats:


      WAN MER 2440074 4739618 0 167242289 2147483647 14:45:56
      LAN Up 175565 171844 0 142920892 22394619 18:44:11
      WLAN Up 4707094 2479134 0 2147483647 149204682 18:43:54

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15356 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 dB 14.9 dB
      Noise Margin 7.1 dB 14.9 dB


      And here are my stats for when I went live, before and after Sky support re-configuration:

      Date Time Sync Atten Margin
      Down Up Down Up Down Up
      07/06/11 10:58:00 AM 621 220 27 7.7 11.5 7.2
      07/06/11 12:35:00 PM 16382 767 27 15.1 7.4 18.5


      And these while speaking with Sky to ask for higher sync:

      19/06/11 03:56:00 PM 16598 1150 27 7.9 7.6 8.6

      (Btw, during this call, I asked what the actual was that he had just set me at and he said 18,244. He said he could not understand why I was not seeing 18 meg at my end.)


      This is the highest sync I have noticed (highest UP was 1157):

      20/06/11 09:40:00 PM 17204 1150 27 7.2 7 9

    11. #9
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: A few questions.

      You won't be able to see the configured speed at your end as your line is not capable of achieving it. Your noise margin for both downstream and upstream should be around 7db for you to be uncapped on Sky's network. As you can see your downstream noise margin is 7.1db at the moment which means your downstream is uncapped. Your upstream noise margin is 14.9db at the moment which means there is room for improving your upload speed.

      Unless you plug your router into the test socket and your noise margin or sync improves drastically there is not much you can do here. Your speed is okay for your line.

      Your speed was different on o2 because they have a different target noise margin of 6db (the lower the noise margin the higher the speed and the higher the instability). They must have lowered it further (to 3db probaby) when you said you were about to leave in order to give you more speed.

      Just ring Sky and tell you want to be placed on the 20mb downstream and 1.3mb upstream profile as your upload speed is too low at the moment. When you ring them make sure your router is in the test socket.

    12. #10
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: A few questions.

      Thanks for the advice Exdee.

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Just ring Sky and tell you want to be placed on the 20mb downstream and 1.3mb upstream profile as your upload speed is too low at the moment.
      What if I am met with the same response as last time? As in: A high sync could cause problems, possibly affecting the phone as well.
      Btw, when the chap told me this, it was only as a general statement.

      As it appears that I am under DLM at the moment, is it to be expected that if DLM was left to complete, I would end up with my optimum profile anyway?

      On a properly functioning and configured connection should I expect to see not too much drift from 7db down/up?


      Thanks for your time.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION