Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 45
    Like Tree1Likes

    Need help... Broadband down!

    This is a discussion on Need help... Broadband down! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Just joined sky a month ago with bb unlimited! Everything was working great until three days ago when the ...

    1. #1
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need help... Broadband down!

      Hi,
      Just joined sky a month ago with bb unlimited! Everything was working great until three days ago when the bb went down! All the lights on the router are green but I can't get a wired or a wireless connection. I've been on the phone countless times to sky who have said it could be up to 9 days before they can phone me back to get a solution!
      Was wondering if anyone had any ideas!
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Quote Originally Posted by Amandafiz20 View Post
      Hi,
      Just joined sky a month ago with bb unlimited! Everything was working great until three days ago when the bb went down! All the lights on the router are green but I can't get a wired or a wireless connection. I've been on the phone countless times to sky who have said it could be up to 9 days before they can phone me back to get a solution!
      Was wondering if anyone had any ideas!
      Thanks
      Have you got a firewall on your pc? Try turning it off and see if you can connect. It might need updating. I had 2 ppl with this issue yesterday and this resolved it.

      If your problem has been escalated to CST you could be waiting between 72 hours and 9 days for a callback.

    4. #3
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Yeh I've turned off the firewall and went through all the tests over the phone with sky. I looked at my firmware and I think it's up to date! It's 5.14.6.1a4n!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Have you tried connecting to the router's user interface?

      Using your browser, type 192.168.0.1 into the address line and press return.

      This can be done with either a wired or wireless connection. If one fails, then try then other.

      If this has failed, then to rule out there being any issues with the settings on your router, could you perform the following tasks please:

      • look at the LED on the front of the router and see if the LAN port LED is illuminating when you plug in your computer. You may also wish to swap the Ethernet lead with another known working lead
      • Reset the IP settings for your wired port and redo the test above (i.e. access the router only) using the LAN port
      • Reboot your computer in 'Safe mode with Networking' and try to access just the router (press F8 before the 'M$ Windows is Starting' message appears and select Safe mode with Networking)
      • With the router powered up, press and hold the reset button on the back of the router for 10 seconds

      Resetting the router will loose any personal settings that you may have made to the router, but it will remove them should they be causing the problem.

      Retry connecting to your router via your browser. Again use both wired & wireless connections.

      Either way, come back and let us know if you can or cannot access the router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Have you tried connecting to the router's user interface?

      Using your browser, type 192.168.0.1 into the address line and press return.

      This can be done with either a wired or wireless connection. If one fails, then try then other.

      If this has failed, then to rule out there being any issues with the settings on your router, could you perform the following tasks please:

      • look at the LED on the front of the router and see if the LAN port LED is illuminating when you plug in your computer. You may also wish to swap the Ethernet lead with another known working lead
      • Reset the IP settings for your wired port and redo the test above (i.e. access the router only) using the LAN port
      • Reboot your computer in 'Safe mode with Networking' and try to access just the router (press F8 before the 'M$ Windows is Starting' message appears and select Safe mode with Networking)
      • With the router powered up, press and hold the reset button on the back of the router for 10 seconds

      Resetting the router will loose any personal settings that you may have made to the router, but it will remove them should they be causing the problem.

      Retry connecting to your router via your browser. Again use both wired & wireless connections.

      Either way, come back and let us know if you can or cannot access the router.
      Hi, I can asses the router through both wired and wireless connection!

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Go to the router status page and paste the results here.

    8. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Sounds like an invalid proxy to me. Check your browsers settings.
      Scubbie likes this.

    9. #8
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Broadband connected
      Wireless. Enabled
      Wireless network name skyao3a2
      Wireless network visible. Yes
      Wireless channel Auto
      Wireless encryption. WpA psk

    10. #9
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Sorry totally put the wrong thing. I can't copy and paste it as I can't get on the internet on my computer and using my phone to access the internet!
      Is there any specific details u need that I can manually type in?

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      This link will help you:

      How to get your router statistics

      Just copy & paste the figures.

      They will need to be tidied up a little before posting though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION