Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 45
    Like Tree1Likes

    Need help... Broadband down!

    This is a discussion on Need help... Broadband down! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy That would mean you need to delete the WiFi connection on your PC to your router ...

    1. #21
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      That would mean you need to delete the WiFi connection on your PC to your router and set it up again - almost sounds like someone has changed your WiFi key...
      Hi, I've set it up again and I can connect but the internet still will not work!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      On the Mac

      Click on the Apple symbol and select System Preferences.

      From there, click on Network and then click on 'Assist me'.

      Click 'Diagnostics' and follow the onscreen instructions.

    4. #23
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Quote Originally Posted by steelysteph View Post
      On the Mac

      Click on the Apple symbol and select System Preferences.

      From there, click on Network and then click on 'Assist me'.

      Click 'Diagnostics' and follow the onscreen instructions.
      Hi, it says my Internet connect appears to be working correctly.

    5. #24
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Just checking something - could you unplug the router from the power supply for a couple of minutes and then try again.

    6. #25
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Still no joy

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Can you try this - Switch the power to your router off and pull the plug out of the back. Leave it for about 40 minutes, replace the plug and switch the power back on. See if you can get on the internet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Hi guys... Still no luck!

    9. #28
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Right, let's try pinging.

      Open Finder
      Open Applications
      Open Utilities
      Open Network Utility
      Clink on the Ping tab
      In the 1st field enter 212.58.254.251 as the IP address (BBC cos I know ir works)
      In the Send Only ----- pings enter 10
      Click Ping

      What happens?

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      Open a Command Prompt and run ping 90.207.238.97 If you get a reply it means you have a DNS problem
      I am not sure how you do this with a Mac if you don't have a Windows machine handy, but there will be a way.

      If you get a reply, type 77.240.11.57 in the address bar and it should take you to a Skyuser site.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      Amandafiz20's Avatar
      Amandafiz20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help... Broadband down!

      It's says 100% packet loss

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION