Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Fluctuating noise margin

    This is a discussion on Fluctuating noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Our Sky unlimited up to 20 mbps service is capped at 11mbps, has been since January when we joined. ...

    1. #1
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fluctuating noise margin

      Hi,

      Our Sky unlimited up to 20 mbps service is capped at 11mbps, has been since January when we joined.

      Throughput speeds are always above 8mbps and there's very little we do online that we cannot do, so I suppose on the one hand I have nothing to moan about !

      I am NOT plugged into the master socket but have taken all the usual advice eg removing bell wire.

      This week the noise margin on the d/stream has been fluctuating between 1.6 and 10, yet no disconnects.

      Just now it is at 1.8 yet I get a speedtest result of 8mbps, and a line rating of A on pingtest.

      I know I should have the router plugged into the master, but when I did this beofre it made little difference, maybe I need to call Sky again? Although as I say we are getting no disconnects. I did reboot the router yesterday, but this was 1st time in three months, and there had been no downtime at all in those 3 months.

      Surely with such a low NM at times the whole thing should be dropping out?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      It has to be asked, but could you plug your router into the Test Socket and repost your stats please. This way we can compare what you have with what you could obtain.

      Telephone extensions are never a good idea IMHO. They cause too many problems, such as fluctuating signal.

      In the long-term, is there anything that currently prevents you from using the Master socket as a normal practise?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Scubbie, away this week now but will do this. Appreciate your help.

      Master is downstairs near front door and router plugged there looks messy, need a cabinet to hide it away and perhaps it could then stay there.

      Also desktop pc is upstairs with router currently, so would need a solution in getting Internet upstairs, wireless card I guess or a homeplug ? (I use one set already to connect my tv)
      Thanks, will come back with master stats.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Since you are already using a pair of HomePlugs, the task of adding an additional HomePlug is relatively simple.

      You do not need to add an additional pair, you can add just a single HomePlug.

      An alternative solution would be as follows:

      1. attach router to master socket
      2. run a long Ethernet cable to where your TV is (a 10m cable costs <5)
      3. plug the lead into a 5-Port switch (available for as little as 4)
      4. connect the TV to one of the ports on the 5-Port Switch (your Sky+ HD STB can use another)
      5. connect the HomePlug to another of the ports on the switch
      6. connect you PC to the other HomePlug

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      I ran a 20m Cat5 Adsl cable from my filtered NTE5 by the front door to my router upstairs. Worked just fine for me.

      Plus I use Netgear homeplugs for the HD box, Freesat recorders & Xbox.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      I ran a 20m Cat5 Adsl cable from my filtered NTE5 by the front door to my router upstairs. Worked just fine for me.

      Plus I use Netgear homeplugs for the HD box, Freesat recorders & Xbox.
      I am glad that you have the knowledge and expertise to set up this cable correctly. Many other members don't.

      On many occasions I have seen some people completely mess this type of extension up.

      For this reason I personally advise against this. I personally like to advise people about solutions that require little work or little specialist knowledge.

      It may also be worth pointing out that Cat 6 Ethernet cable would be better suited to your solution in any case.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It may also be worth pointing out that Cat 6 Ethernet cable would be better suited to your solution in any case.
      Maybe I'll have a look into that. Not a particularly difficult job to redo it.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      Maybe I'll have a look into that. Not a particularly difficult job to redo it.
      In the mean time, looking at the thread where you posted your stats earlier, I would seriously suggest that you need to look at using the short grey ADSL lead supplied by Sky.

      Your line attenuation is 12dB, yet you are getting no where near the best speed that your line should be able to achieve.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      In the mean time, looking at the thread where you posted your stats earlier, I would seriously suggest that you need to look at using the short grey ADSL lead supplied by Sky.

      Your line attenuation is 12dB, yet you are getting no where near the best speed that your line should be able to achieve.
      Not my stats , I'm on a 30dB attenuation & currently getting 15358kbps.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      Not my stats , I'm on a 30dB attenuation & currently getting 15358kbps.
      Sorry, got confused with someone else.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION