Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

    This is a discussion on 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, In my house i have a Sky ( BT ) phone line connection which my router (NetGear N300) runs ...

    1. #1
      SubScriptZero's Avatar
      SubScriptZero is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Luton
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      Hi,

      In my house i have a Sky (BT) phone line connection which my router (NetGear N300) runs from.

      At the end of my garden i have a small office which i use to work from home. This office has a separate phone line going into it. (Not an extension of the main house one). What i am wondering is if i could use the same sky user+password that i use on my router in the house and have a second router setup on the outside line.

      I tried configuring my spare router (Belkin N1 Vision) with my sky password+username and then just plugging it into the 2nd phone line and seeing if it just worked, however it did not.

      If its possible how would i go about getting my second line turned on/configured so that i can kind of use it as an extension of the main house line how would i go about doing this.

      Thanks
      Sam

      Ps; I have considered running a long CAT 5E cable around the side of my house to my office or setting up a router to be a repeater to boost signal strength, however both of these are kind of impractical and i'm more interested to see if i can get the 2nd line working. Also those internet over mains things don't work as the outside office has its own circuit.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      The 2nd line won't have a BB service on it so no, it wouldn't work. You'll to take up another ISP as Sky only allows one connection per account
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      You can't use it like that. You need to order broadband separately on the line in your office.

      I don't know if Sky will provision broadband on another line on the same address. You may have to go with a different provider.

      Edit: ^

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      You could run a Cat 5 or Cat 6 Ethernet cable to your office, this would provide you with an Internet link.

      If you are looking to purchase a router to do the job, then might I suggest that a Network Switch would be better and more secure?

      It is also important to realise that Sky BB is a domestic service. Should you rely on your BB connection for work, and it fails, then you will receive no compensation for loss of earnings.

      Business packages have built in guarantees for levels of service. Should it go down, then they have a priority level for dealing with business connections.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: EE Fibre (rubbish!)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q and Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      240
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      Cat5E is not rated for usage outdoors, Cat6 should be fine.

      However I'd use a homeplug if it's off the same electricity meter.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 2 Phone Lines - 1 Sky Connection

      External grade Cat5e is available, the sheathing is UV resistant. Likewise Cat6 would also have to be outdoor grade or it will deteriorate.
      BroadbandBuyer Cat5e UTP External Grade Outdoor Ethernet Cable [1+VAT per Meter]

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION