Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 68
    Like Tree2Likes

    Speed problems

    This is a discussion on Speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Most ISPs work on a default of 6db, why Sky insist on 7db, I don't know. It does not show ...

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Most ISPs work on a default of 6db, why Sky insist on 7db, I don't know. It does not show much faith in their routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Most ISPs work on a default of 6db, why Sky insist on 7db, I don't know. It does not show much faith in their routers.
      The engineer came out and tested everything again and said it's all ok.

      Oddly enough late last night the downstream noise margin improved to over 8dB and pretty much stayed there.

      He's fitted me a filtered faceplate and said see how it goes

      I asked him why next door was getting double the speed I was and he said because I wasnt on 21cn and my neighbour must have been.

      Either way he insist's my line is fine and syncing at 90% on the downstream and 80% on the upstream which he said is spot on.

      I will post my stats for all to see when I get home

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      I asked him why next door was getting double the speed I was and he said because I wasnt on 21cn and my neighbour must have been.
      If he is with Sky he will not be on 21CN as that is BT only. Just another case of a BT engineer trying to make Sky look bad. There is something wrong with your line, period.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Even so 21CN should produce identical speeds to Sky's LLU service. Both are ADSL2+.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #45
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 3:36:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 37021 44005 0 7106749 36163797 3:35:07
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 3:36:54
      WLAN Up 71611 57228 0 50313580 9645430 3:36:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2912 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 dB 31.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.7 dB 9.0 dB
      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)

      Well given what you have both said I don't know what to do next, or should I just put up and shut up? as they say.

      Since the engineer rebooted the router, the downstream noise margin is back to fluctuating wildly again (5.1 to 7.8dB). It had settled right down over night so I might see how it goes for a while before mythering sky TS again. I'm not letting it stress me out seen as it's FRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIDAAAAAAAAAAY and all is good with world on a Friday

      I take it the BTO engineer was talking complete BS and if so is there anyway I can check by comparing next doors stats to mine?

    7. #46
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,902
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Pabscars View Post
      I take it the BTO engineer was talking complete BS and if so is there anyway I can check by comparing next doors stats to mine?
      You could plug your router into your neighbours socket.

      Whilst it won't connect, unless you neighbour has Sky BB, you can get the stats.

      I would then be tempted to contact Sky once more and ask for a detailed report as to why their connection is significantly faster than yours, when you are in the same terrace.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #47
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Cheers Scubbie, yes next door has Sky Unlimited BB same as me, if I can catch them when there in I will try this thanks.

    9. #48
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 11:27:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 37444 39589 0 7441639 24484224 11:26:01
      LAN Up 24489 32 0 3219615 2894 11:27:11
      WLAN Up 81864 74729 0 35235398 13062692 11:26:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2688 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 dB 31.0 dB
      Noise Margin 8.6 dB 9.0 dB


      I've not bumped into my neighbour this weekend so haven't had chance to swap router's, but I have noticed the noise margin is a bit more stable and has raised to over 8dB.

      Sky TS did ring back again and confirmed the BT engineer was talking nonsense. They also mentioned the BTO guy should have ran a few more test's but obviously could'nt be bothered.

      The upshot is, Sky TS have requested for more test's to be done, something to do with the exchange and connecting to some different equipment to see if anything changes.

      He also confirmed by checking the area, that my speed is at least 1Mb slower than everyone else. Time to cross the old finger's again me think's but at least Sky are being proactive.

      Just one quick question if I may, would my line be able to sustain a higher theoretical speed now my noise margin has improved.

    10. #49
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      You could get a better speed as you are, however the main thing is that your attenuation has come down a bit, not enough to equal your neighbour who is on ADSL2+ whereas you are on G.DMT. But it is an improvement. Wait and see what the engineer can do for you. There is a good chance the card in the exchange is causing the problem and a move to another will solve the problem. I have seen cases on ere where a change in the exchange has made a big improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #50
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You could get a better speed as you are, however the main thing is that your attenuation has come down a bit, not enough to equal your neighbour who is on ADSL2+ whereas you are on G.DMT. But it is an improvement. Wait and see what the engineer can do for you. There is a good chance the card in the exchange is causing the problem and a move to another will solve the problem. I have seen cases on ere where a change in the exchange has made a big improvement.
      Cheers Isitme, will do, but what's G.DMT ??? and how can you tell

     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION