Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 68
    Like Tree2Likes

    Speed problems

    This is a discussion on Speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Provided the line test returned a loop condition with all of your equipment (filters, phone, router etc.) and your faceplate ...

    1. #31
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Provided the line test returned a loop condition with all of your equipment (filters, phone, router etc.) and your faceplate removed, then you're very unlikely to see any charges from Openreach.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Provided the line test returned a loop condition with all of your equipment (filters, phone, router etc.) and your faceplate removed, then you're very unlikely to see any charges from Openreach.
      Well the first two test's had the filter in and the last test had absolutely nothing plugged into the test socket and it still returned a loop fault.

      I'm presuming a loop fault is basically a short between two wires, so for it to do this with no equipment attached suggest's the fault is external.

      At least it's progress so in a weird way I'm relieved, nice work by TS and a thumbs up from me.

    4. #33
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Correct. The fault will lie on BT maintained wiring external to your responsibility, so nothing to worry about if that test was with the test socket exposed and nothing plugged into it. Openreach should have it sorted following the visit.

    5. #34
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      One can only hope.

    6. #35
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Right guys and gals, the engineer has been here for hours and eventually got rid of the loop fault, but if you look at my line stats the downstream attenuation has dropped but so has my speed. Also the downstream noise margin has too and is now fluctuating like mad.

      Can some kind soul offer any guidance

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 0:50:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9023 16278 0 603013 22642698 0:26:55
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 0:50:41
      WLAN Up 74834 55198 0 68859678 6414304 0:50:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2784 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 dB 31.0 dB
      Noise Margin 6.3 dB 10.0 dB


      Do I now have to get back onto Sky tech support to up my speed from the exchange in line with improved attenuation?

      Thanks in advance

    7. #36
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Your line attenuation has improved from what it was originally, but now your noise margin does not appear to leave you any room for improvement.

      I would be inclined to call Sky again and see if someone can look further into your connection issues.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Looks like they have fixed it till its broke

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Looks like they have fixed it till its broke
      My wife laughed when she read this

    10. #39
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Your line attenuation has improved from what it was originally, but now your noise margin does not appear to leave you any room for improvement.

      I would be inclined to call Sky again and see if someone can look further into your connection issues.
      Cheers, god knows what the engineer has done to end up lowering the noise margin

    11. #40
      Pabscars's Avatar
      Pabscars is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      WA3
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed problems

      Just an update, Sky TS rang me back today as promised and have ran yet another line test. The result came back as showing no fault but they could clearly see my downstream noise margin was dropping below 6 and fluctuating to over 7dB.

      They said ideally it should be above 7dB and stable so have now booked me a broadband engineer to investigate further. They also said if it drops below 7dB it can cause a loss of service

      So far I'm quite impressed with the way Sky TS have handled my case and always rang back when they said they would. They haven't hesitated in spotting the issues so hats off to them.

      Hopefully the engineer coming tomorrow afternoon can spot the cause of the problem but I suspect it's the cable from the pit to the property that's past it's best.

      Place ya bets
      Last edited by Pabscars; 09-06-11 at 09:47 PM. Reason: typo

     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION