Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Low SNR

    This is a discussion on Low SNR within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I am currently on DLM (day 4) with Sky utp 20mb service and my router does not seem ...

    1. #1
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Low SNR

      Hi all I am currently on DLM (day 4) with Sky utp 20mb service and my router does not seem to be going any higher that 7000kbps even though my line attenuation is 30.5DB. My SNR is at 7.8DB but thought i would be getting at least 13-14MBps.Any ideas what the problem may be and why my SNR is so low thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      Post full stats:

      How to get your router statistics

      And a more detailed description of your setup
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 34612 55315 0 9868836 47835162 7:46:30
      LAN Up 3244 1661 0 822472 245394 6:18:32
      WLAN Up 81093 67200 0 63824139 15144495 6:18:13

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6970 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.5 dB 19.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.8 dB 16.1 dB

      connect a laptop and desktop pc wirelessly.
      thanks

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      Plug into your Test socket if you have one and post your stats from there. Use only the ADSL cable and filter supplied by Sky.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      no test socket in a new build flat with two extensions and using equipment supplied by sky.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      Quote Originally Posted by cooks View Post
      no test socket in a new build flat with two extensions and using equipment supplied by sky.
      This alone might be the cause of the issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      guess nothing can be done then just have to live with it!

    9. #8
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      if i ring sky can they just set my router to what it should be eg around 14-16mbps?

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      They can set the line but it won't reach it as the noise margin has no room for improvement
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      cooks's Avatar
      cooks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Low SNR

      can the router have an affect on this?get no help from cst when i call.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION