Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Master socket and ADSL cable

    This is a discussion on Master socket and ADSL cable within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, new sky customer here, been reading the forums for a while, finally decided to join. TV is set ...

    1. #1
      yazeez's Avatar
      yazeez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMED
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Chatham
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master socket and ADSL cable

      Hi there, new sky customer here, been reading the forums for a while, finally decided to join.
      TV is set up finally (had an issue with the dish installer, who wanted extra but thanks to this forum I found out that i am not liable for extra installation costs)

      Anyways, the router arrived today and I just have one question.

      The master socket is about 3 meters away from my ideal location for the router (close to sky box and ps3 so they will be connected by ethernet). The adsl cable provided will reach the master socket but it would not be "ideal" as it would be visible and on the floor.
      I have a socket extension cable running from the master socket to the sky box (provided by sky).
      Can I plug in the adsl cable there, after fitting in the microfilter, or does it have to be directly connected to the master socket? If so, would that be affecting the speed?

      The activation date is next week, will the BT engineer need access to the house, or will this all be done without him actually present in the property?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Master socket and ADSL cable

      I would be tempted to spend around 4 on a switch and around 2 on a 5m LAN cable.

      Plug the router near to the Master socket place the Switch by your TV.

      If you don't want to spend the 4 on the switch, and want to experiment, then you could use a spare router instead. This will be particularly useful if you have the old firmware on the router at the moment and wish to use WiFi.

      How to connect two Routers together

      Using any telephone extension and connecting a router to it will reduce your connection speed.

      Some members will talk about using specific cable to replace the grey ADSL lead, but this is not always successful with some people. This is one of several threads on the topic:

      ADSL Extension with CAT5

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      yazeez's Avatar
      yazeez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMED
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Chatham
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket and ADSL cable

      What do you mean when you say a switch? a LAN switch?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Master socket and ADSL cable

      Quote Originally Posted by yazeez View Post
      What do you mean when you say a switch? a LAN switch?
      Sorry, yes. A 5-Port LAN Switch.

      In case you don't know, essentially they are a dumb group of ports, allowing access in this case to your router and in turn the Internet.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      yazeez's Avatar
      yazeez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDMED
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Chatham
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket and ADSL cable

      Sounds like a simple solution, thanks!

      (I feel embarrassed I didn't come up with that one myself!)

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Master socket and ADSL cable

      Quote Originally Posted by yazeez View Post
      Sounds like a simple solution, thanks!

      (I feel embarrassed I didn't come up with that one myself!)
      Don't worry. There are lots of different options available out there.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION