Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    what speed you expect with this settings

    This is a discussion on what speed you expect with this settings within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello! Having this settings what sort of speed would you expect with sky? DLM started DLM completed Last question was ...

    1. #1
      Galustius's Avatar
      Galustius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lowestoft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      what speed you expect with this settings

      Hello!


      Having this settings what sort of speed would you expect with sky?

      DLM started
      DLM completed


      Last question was how do i know the DLM started and DLM completed
      ?


      Best regards

      Galustius


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      Sorry, can't see any settings or stats!

      Post your stats please
      How to get your router statistics

      You can usually tell when DLM is running by looking at the WAN uptime in the router stats. A sync in the early hours, between 2 and 3 means it is running. You can also tell by checking your broadband details on your MySky page, although this is often not up to date.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      Must be on BT Infinity since the figures are so high

    5. #4
      Galustius's Avatar
      Galustius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lowestoft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      LOOOOOOOOOL


      sorry, looks likei had a Dumb moment forgot copy past the stats

      Router Statistics


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 196823 259382 0 28979975 212202801 5:04:27
      LAN Up 689594 578225 0 559124818 74084732 5:05:11
      WLAN Up 0 0 0 0 0 5:04:54


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 dB 21.9 dB
      Noise Margin 10.8 dB 17.7 dB
      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)


      sorry about that

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      You should expect 10-11Mb, but your noise margin is a bit low. Plug into your test socket using only the cable supplied by Sky, take and post your stats.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Galustius's Avatar
      Galustius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lowestoft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      hello!

      as per requested here is the information on the master socket.

      System Up Time: 0:02:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 1210 1288 0 242165 1173252 0:01:28
      LAN Up 5761 5498 0 4396861 828269 0:02:43
      WLAN Up 336 10 0 118433 1575 0:02:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 dB 22.1 dB
      Noise Margin 14.3 dB 17.8 dB

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      Noise Margin 14.3 dB 17.8 dB
      That shows your internal wiring is interfering with the ADSL signal. You should buy fit and use a filtered faceplate. If you are recently connected, you could leave it in the Test socket and allow DLM to set the speed, or if you have been connected for over a couple of weeks, call Sky and ask the to reconfigure your line as you have made improvements to your wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Galustius's Avatar
      Galustius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lowestoft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      Hello!

      No,

      Both test on the master Socket and on the Faceplate, gives both a good result, The problem is that i need the Router in a near room 4 meters away and as soon as i put that Extention cable, and move the Router to the end of that cable the Noise margin drops.

      At the moment i can replace easy the cable as he cross under the cartpet. I will need to figure out what i can do to pass a new cable, or if is feaseable move the router into the hall.


      What speed i will loose with a 4db on the Noise?

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      I would say move the router as close as you can to the master socket and run an ethernet cable to where you want it.

      As you have seen a 4m telephone extention cable has quite an effect.

      As for speed I have a attenuation of 36 and I am synching at 12.8 meg/sec when you get sorted out you should see 10 meg/sec no problems.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      Galustius's Avatar
      Galustius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lowestoft
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: what speed you expect with this settings

      Ok!

      i can see that, I allways thought that cable was damage anyway (is runing under the carpet and as far as i can think is goes across so am sure that we step over.

      Now the problem is try get the best solution.

      Is very complicate for me bring the router near to the Master Socket, due the fact that i have The Router hardwire link to:

      Printer
      IP Phone
      Printer

      At the moment connect inside my faceplate I have Nothing.

      Outside Faceplate I have a small dual Spliter some similar to this


      In one end I plug a Microfilter and from microfilter i have a home phone.
      On second end I have the (bad) extention

      On the end of extention i have Anoher microfilter and then the Sky provide Adsl cable into the router. My fax printer conects into the same Microfilter.

      I am a bit open to sugestions what can i do to improve the connection, some ideas that i come up to are

      Senario A)
      Get a decent Phone cable Like this Connect in the back of my faceplate and run a extention socket into near the Router. I can even buy a wall socket with inbuild filters.
      This way i would dump the dual splitter and hopefully have a beter quality Adsl conection. With this i could have the fazz still connect

      Question Are:

      What is a GOOD relaible cable for this task, What wall socket should i get (on with microfilter or without.
      Will i see a Big Loose with This GOOD quality cable?

      Senario B)

      Replace The Faceplate with a Filter faceplate and Run a Good Quality ADSL cable like this one.
      This senario i would loose the faz, But to be honest is not very important.

      Senario C) something diferent.
      If anyone could give a help i would be very very apreciated.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION