Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

    This is a discussion on My speeds are being capped, but by who and how? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am on a sky unlimited broadband plan, and get 'up to 20mb/s' In reality, i get 5mb/s, whihc i ...

    1. #1
      ZeroSmash's Avatar
      ZeroSmash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      I am on a sky unlimited broadband plan, and get 'up to 20mb/s'
      In reality, i get 5mb/s, whihc i am actually lucky to get, because most providers have said that my line only supports 2mb/s.

      I am a heavy downloader, being a gamer, and i was capped around last thursday to a measly 0.06 mb/s download. i simply thought this was due to my heavy use, and disregarded it, hoping it would return to the normal 5mb/s speed i was used to.

      Sure enough, by sunday it was back to normal, and i was reunited with my precious internet. However, problems soon occured. Assuming my cap was due to my heavy use, i used the internet lightly. for the day it was working. My internet had dropped to the same 0.06mb/s that it had been previously. after calling up sky and going through the process of connecting the filter to the test socket, they found that my speed had been capped at their end to this, and apparently for no reason. they immediatly told me that they had got rid of the cap, and when my exchange went back online i would be at the same speeds as i was previously. Only, i wasn't.

      My speed had simply increased from 0.06mb/s to 1.34mb/s. after playing with the router settings in chrome, i found that the download was showing up as 6.3mb/s, if i haven't got the conversion rates wrong.



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      I will also include the speedtest result, taken from speedtest.net.



      My question is, what exactly is going on, and is it related to the router or the microfilter?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      Your problem is your upstream is locked at 6.4k
      thats not enough to reply for a 6.5mbit downstream

      phone them and ask for the upstream to be uncapped

    4. #3
      ZeroSmash's Avatar
      ZeroSmash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      Thanks for the advice, your spot on!

      After having a 40 minute conversation with sky support, they uncapped the upload, and now my speed is more or less back to where it should be.



      Thanks again for the help, you saved me

    5. #4
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      Still doesnt look uncapped
      can you paste your stats now

      99% of lines seem able to get atleast 90k a second upstream

    6. #5
      ZeroSmash's Avatar
      ZeroSmash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      Really? I had the upload speed of 0.7mb/s on a virgin cable line, and that was with a 10mb/s real world speed. I'm used to these speeds



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      There it is, in all it's crappy glory. I actually should be getting better, but i'm alright cause sky cap peer to peer anyway, and that's all the new speed would affect for me.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      You have some sort of interference, I think you need to go back to basics and check your set up. The easiest way to do this is to plug into your Test socket using only the cable supplied by Sky and post your stats from there.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      You should also change your filter, preferably to a good quality non Sky one. The Sky supplied filters are often rubbish.

      Sky do not cap P2P or anything else.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      ZeroSmash's Avatar
      ZeroSmash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      OK, i'll check the test socket speeds later, when i'm not d/ling anime

      I understand that i should change the filter, but i don't know where to get them, and how i know they are good quality. Damn am i a n00b.

      Really? They Don't? I only get 500kb/s with any P2P. Come to think of it, That's all i get normally downloading as well. I sense a problem. An expensive one, probably.

      I'll have a look for a filter on amazon. Thanks for the advice!

    9. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      That is such a low upstream
      and there's not much more there with sky's margin

      Though the downstream can go around a meg more

      You need to do as isitme says and check out your internal wiring

    10. #9
      ZeroSmash's Avatar
      ZeroSmash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      Well, after connecting the microfilter to the master socket, it has improved the upload. marginally.



      Uploaded with ImageShack.us

      My speedtest result has also changed. Marginally.



      I'm really hoping that it isn't my internal wiring, because i'm not in a position to upgrade at the moment. If it is, I'll just have to leave it and hope for the best. I'll post the stats up when i get a new microfilter, which may take a while if i don't get to BnQ soon.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My speeds are being capped, but by who and how?

      I would recommend fitting and using one of these ADSL Nation LTD. that will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION