Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Could I get much more based on my line stats

    This is a discussion on Could I get much more based on my line stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have had Sky Broadband Unlimited since Sept 2010 and it has been faultless since then. I have heard that ...

    1. #1
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Could I get much more based on my line stats

      I have had Sky Broadband Unlimited since Sept 2010 and it has been faultless since then.

      I have heard that sometimes it is possible to contact Sky and basically be able to then squeeze a bit more out of the connection with regards to having a higher downstream speed.

      The setup I have in my house is this:

      My router is downstairs within 2m of my BT Master Socket. From my router I have a 2m ADSL cable that then plugs into my ADSL Nation filtered faceplate. On my BT Master socket I have the ADSL Nation filitered faceplate. From my router I have a 15m RJ45 LAN cable that goes upstairs to my PC.

      My stats are as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection Speed 17022 kbps 1161 kbps

      Line Attenuation 25.5db 14.7db

      Noise Margin 7.4db 8.6db

      I am basically wanting to know if you guys can advise me on if I am getting the maximum downstream speed I can based on my stats, or could I get a higher downstream speed if I contacted Sky and got them to do some adjustments.

      If I need to contact Sky, what is the procedure/department to ask for in order to get the downstream sync raised.

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Could I get much more based on my line stats

      Yes, that is your maximum downstream. You may find that if you reboot your router when your noise margin is at it's highest you will get a slightly higher sync.

      You have got a decent line.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      Tal71 (29-05-11)

    5. #3
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Could I get much more based on my line stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Yes, that is your maximum downstream. You may find that if you reboot your router when your noise margin is at it's highest you will get a slightly higher sync.

      You have got a decent line.
      Yeah I noticed that if I reboot my router at around 6am I get a slightly higher downstream figure (only 4-5 kbps though).

      Or well that's nice to know that I've got a decent line, thanks for the help its much appreciated

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Could I get much more based on my line stats

      Have you tried swapping filters or considered installing a filtered faceplate?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Could I get much more based on my line stats

      I think you are getting as much as you can, you are probably set to 18048/1216 or even 20000/1300. As mentioned, rebooting your router when you are above 7 db should get you slightly more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION