Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Slow speed??

    This is a discussion on Slow speed?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just how slow do Sky start your downloads??? 5 days in and I read 440 kbs. Is this even broadband? ...

    1. #1
      phaxl2's Avatar
      phaxl2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speed??

      Just how slow do Sky start your downloads???
      5 days in and I read 440 kbs. Is this even broadband?

      I now have Sky on speed dial! (never got round to using them though, minimum 20 minute hold even at 7.30am)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      It depends on whether you mean a sync speed of 440kbps or a download speed of 440KBps. Post your stats please, from the normal position of the router and from the Test socket if you have one.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      phaxl2's Avatar
      phaxl2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Well I ran the standard 'speedtest.net' & 'speedio' and assumed it related to download, but I'll run it again and post the results.
      TIA.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Speedtests tell us nothing really, what we need are the stats from the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      phaxl2's Avatar
      phaxl2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Stats as follows:

      Upstream / Downstream

      Connection Speed 471 kbs / 605 kbs
      Line Attenuation 52.0 dB / 32.0 dB
      Noise Margin 5.0 dB / 15.9 dB

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Any noise/issues on your landline?
      How many telephone sockets do you use?
      Is there a microfilter connected directly into each telephone socket in use, ensuring that nothing is before the filter?
      Is the router connected to the master socket or an extension socket?
      Are you using the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided, or running an extension telephone cable to the router?
      Do you have Sky tv connected to any telephone sockets?
      Do you have a test socket?

    8. #7
      phaxl2's Avatar
      phaxl2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      The router is plug directly (via the grey sky cable) into the sky issued microfilter, which is then plugged directly into the phone socket. The phone is then plugged into the same microfilter & no sky tv. The faceplate is an old BT version, hence no test socket, and there is one other phone branched down line at the first.

      TIA

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      I take it the other phone is filtered?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      phaxl2's Avatar
      phaxl2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Actually no!
      The other phone is down line of the filter plugged into the faceplate, so I assumed it would be filtered.
      Is this why Sky send you 2 filters?

      Steep learning curve this

      Thanks again.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speed??

      Every phone socket in use nees to be filtered
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION