Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

    This is a discussion on Can I get faster than 8Mbps? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sorry for the vague title... but as you would expect when you're paying for Sky's Unlimited package (16Mb when we ...

    1. #1
      JS92's Avatar
      JS92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Sorry for the vague title... but as you would expect when you're paying for Sky's Unlimited package (16Mb when we signed up) and we only get around 8Mbps, I would like to know why we cant get max speeds, and if I can.

      So I've heard of ADSL2+ and this allows faster than 8Mbps but Sky has to enable it for you (AFAIK), but along with this upgrade comes instability so I've heard.

      Anyway, I was wondering if it was possible for me to receive this ADSL2+ service to increase our internet speeds.

      Some info:
      Connection Speed = 8189 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation = 33.5 db 17.7 db
      Noise Margin = 5.9 db 17.4 db

      we are roughly 0.9/1mile(not direct) from the exchange, and the exchange is SamKnows - Broadband Availability - Milton Lee (WMMTL) Exchange

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      1) ADSL speeds are based on the quality of the line and your distance from the exchange. 16MB (20 now) is the maximum speed that Sky say their equipment in the exchange can pump out. This deteriorates as you move away from the exchange.
      2) You are already on the ADSL2+ but your speed is a little slow for your attenuation (length of your line).
      3) Post your stats from your test socket.


    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      JS92 (23-05-11)

    5. #3
      JS92's Avatar
      JS92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      1) ADSL speeds are based on the quality of the line and your distance from the exchange. 16MB (20 now) is the maximum speed that Sky say their equipment in the exchange can pump out. This deteriorates as you move away from the exchange.
      2) You are already on the ADSL2+ but your speed is a little slow for your attenuation (length of your line).
      3) Post your stats from your test socket.

      [IMG]http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/93iF8DAC4C19356B0B9/image-size/original?v=mpbl-1&px=-1[IMG]
      I dont mean to be a pain, but how exactly would I go about doing this?

      Thanks =]

    6. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Remove the front of the master telephone socket (as shown in the pic above) and plug the router directly into the TEST socket beneath it, then get your stats again, hopefully, the stats will improve and then we can take it from there.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Smithy99 For This Useful Post:

      JS92 (23-05-11)

    8. #5
      JS92's Avatar
      JS92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Remove the front of the master telephone socket (as shown in the pic above) and plug the router directly into the TEST socket beneath it, then get your stats again, hopefully, the stats will improve and then we can take it from there.
      Ok, thanks will post results later when I get confirmation from family that I can temporarily disable the internet haha

    9. #6
      JS92's Avatar
      JS92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Ok, so I have plugged the router into the master/test socket and taken the results:

      Connection Speed = 8190 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation = 32.5 db 17.3 db
      Noise Margin = 13.8 db 17.8 db

    10. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Plenty of room for improving your speed. Ideally you should have a filtered faceplate at your master socket and keep your router there.

      Filtered faceplate:ADSL Nation LTD.
      Tool required for connections: ADSL Nation LTD.

      After you have your wiring sorted, a call to sky will sort your speed out.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      JS92 (23-05-11)

    12. #8
      JS92's Avatar
      JS92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Plenty of room for improving your speed. Ideally you should have a filtered faceplate at your master socket and keep your router there.

      Filtered faceplate:ADSL Nation LTD.
      Tool required for connections: ADSL Nation LTD.

      After you have your wiring sorted, a call to sky will sort your speed out.
      Thanks, although I dont think its possible to have the router next the master socket as we need the router close to the sky box for the new Anytime thing where it downloads films and programmes :/

      But I think the phone call to Sky will help boost the speed, so thanks dude

    13. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by JS92 View Post
      But I think the phone call to Sky will help boost the speed, so thanks dude
      If you plan on moving the router back to an extension, then the speed will drop back down. Only call for it to be uncapped if you're planning on keeping it at the test socket and/or getting a filtered faceplate.

    14. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster than 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by JS92 View Post
      Thanks, although I dont think its possible to have the router next the master socket as we need the router close to the sky box for the new Anytime thing where it downloads films and programmes :/

      But I think the phone call to Sky will help boost the speed, so thanks dude
      You don't have to have the Sky router physically next to the Sky STB. There are some useful alternatives that we often mention on this forum.

      These include:

      • Long Ethernet cable
      • Pair of HomePlugs
      • Sky's WiFi dongle for the Sky STB
      • WiFi Media Bridge

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION