Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    turn off router or not?

    This is a discussion on turn off router or not? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all, sorry if this is in wrong place, my DLM has just started and im hearing different things about ...

    1. #1
      claretsimon's Avatar
      claretsimon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBLNFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      turn off router or not?

      hi all, sorry if this is in wrong place,

      my DLM has just started and im hearing different things about what to do? should i turn off my router once a day during this process or is it better to leave it on all the time?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      Leave it on.

    4. #3
      GrimTech's Avatar
      GrimTech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWBWAT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Non
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Bridgwater, UK
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: turn off router or not?

      It says in the booklet to leave your router on throughout the 10day period
      My Current Stats
      ADSL Link-Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed-22014 kbps 1150 kbps
      Line Attenuation-3.5 dB 3.6 dB
      Noise Margin-7.3 dB 9.4 dB


    5. #4
      claretsimon's Avatar
      claretsimon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBLNFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      yeh just that some people say its better to turn off once a day for some reason?

    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      nobody says that

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,905
      Thanks
      811
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      The only times that I can think of that you should be turning the router off are:

      • going on holiday for a period, in order to save electric
      • to change the IP address, if you suspect that your LAN has been hacked for example
      • to unlock it, if it has frozen
      • to change the noise margin if you are having problems
      • so that you can relocate it


      DLM needs to build up a picture of your telephone line. It picks up statistics, which are also stored on the router I believe. Switching the router off clears these stats and can also be interpreted as a line fault.

      Routers actually deteriorate faster if you repeatedly switch them off, even once daily. They are designed to be left on all the time.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      claretsimon's Avatar
      claretsimon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STBLNFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      ok my mistake thanks

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      DLM needs to build up a picture of your telephone line. It picks up statistics, which are also stored on the router I believe. Switching the router off clears these stats and can also be interpreted as a line fault.
      They're stored on the server at Sky's end
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,905
      Thanks
      811
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      They're stored on the server at Sky's end
      Thanks. I wasn't 100% sure.

      I know that the original Netgear allowed you to see them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: turn off router or not?

      Really?? I can't for the life of me remember the company Sky paid to use their DLM software but it was expensive! You could see break downs of every element of the connection - a LOT of information to try and take in!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION