Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    My Broadband Speed..

    This is a discussion on My Broadband Speed.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I am not a current Sky Broadband User but i have Television with them etc. for over 7 years ...

    1. #1
      Wadey X's Avatar
      Wadey X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Witney
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD + 3D
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Broadband Speed..

      Hello,

      I am not a current Sky Broadband User but i have Television with them etc. for over 7 years now.

      I was looking for some help with my current ISP speed.. From TalkTalk
      These settings may be handy:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 717 kbps 517 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 13 db

      When I download any file from the internet I seem to get the speed of only90kb/s!
      The Most i have ever recieved is 120kb/s
      At Peaks I sometimes even get only 20kb/s

      To me this is terrible! I understand i live a little while away from my exchange but surely not enough to have such a low speed! (I live roughly 2.2 Miles Away)

      I was wondering if there is something wrong with my connection or what?

      Thanks You Very Much In Advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wadey X's Avatar
      Wadey X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Witney
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD + 3D
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      BUMP

      would appreciate any help? Thank You

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      Quote Originally Posted by Wadey X View Post
      would appreciate any help? Thank You
      Sorry, been kind of busy this morning reinstalling Windows on a PC, watching Dr Who Confidential, putting washing through the machine, and a few other things.

      Looking at you line attenuation, you should be able to achieve a much better connection speed that you are. The tool on this site indicates that you should get between 5Mb & 6Mb download speed.

      First question I would ask, which is a common problem, is have you plugged Microfilters into each and every telephone socket, and are they the first thing plugged in, even before the lead for the Sky STB?

      If you need to change anything here, retake your stats.

      Next question, can you see if you can use the test socket?

      Plug just the microfilter & attach the router directly with the short ADSL lead connecting the router. Retake the stats.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Wadey X's Avatar
      Wadey X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Witney
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD + 3D
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      Hi,

      Thank You So Much For Your Help!

      These are the new stats after plugging into the test socket, my download has significantly increased!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2917 kbps 776 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 11 db

      I just downloaded a test file and thank you so much, the speed is a bit better now, when downloading a file the speed is now around 300kb/s

      Should i still be recieving higher?

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      Yes, you should be getting higher but it may take a call to TalkTalk to get them to reconfigure the line.

      First, you need to sort out your internal wiring as this has been causing the issues, You could consider fitting a filtered facelate if you need any other extensions to work or just continue to run if from the TEST socket if not.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      That is good.

      How were you connecting your router previously?

      You may also want to contact TalkTalk now to ask them to uncap your line as 'you have mad significant improvements'.

      Edit: lol - Smithy got there first
      Last edited by Scubbie; 15-05-11 at 03:04 PM.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      You can't uncap the line in the Sky-sense - TalkTalk do it all via noise margin profiles whereas Sky do it by sync speed. Obviously, the line looks like it's on a 12db profile so a call to get it down to 6db should sort the OP out
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Wadey X's Avatar
      Wadey X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Witney
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD + 3D
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      Hi,

      i am planning to call TalkTalk tonight, just wondering what I am supposed to ask them? Preferably in Simple talk due to the fact im not with technical talk

      Thanks!

    10. #9
      Wadey X's Avatar
      Wadey X is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Witney
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD + 3D
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      Hi,

      These are my figures at the moment..

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2327 kbps 785 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 12 db

      What am i exactly asking TalkTalk?
      Please No Technical Talk.. Im an Amateur

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: My Broadband Speed..

      The TalkTalk Members Forums

      Suppose you could ask them to reprofile the line on their forum. You need put on their 6dB SNR profile.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION